*care of magical creatures*

Hiya knittens! I just finished a fun new pattern called “care of magical creatures.” It is a charm bracelet!  It’s also more than that. :)  Each charm has a task associated with it that will require some action on your part before you can add it to your bracelet.  So they are kind of like merit badges!

Now I didn’t do so well in girl scouts when I was supposed to get my badges so don’t be too scared! The tasks are suuuper easy and fun. they also are all centered around taking care of you, your family, your neighbors, and your entire world!  Each time you look at a particular charm you will remember that little something you did to make life sweeter: a little memory that is yours to keep.  Cause that’s what charm bracelets are all about!

I also made a rambly video. If you think it gets too long you still totally have to listen to the ps. cause I introduce a special guest and sing a song that is still honestly cracking me up so much I can’t stand it. Hugs and happy knits charmers! Love, Stephanie xoxo

OOOOOoooooh ps. the charms are: tiny owl, dragonfly, will O’ the wisp, unicorn horn, puff the magic dragon tail, stag antler, lil frog, vial of acromantula venom, goblin crown, bird nest, mermaid’s egg, gnome, mandrake, phoenix feather, hippogriff feather.

also look for charm pack 2 coming soon :) i just couldnt stop making these things! I want to make mobiles and necklaces and garland and pins and super long dangly earrings and rings and ornaments and and and CAUSE IM A HIPPOGRIFF-A.

This entry was posted in the nest. Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to *care of magical creatures*

  1. Sarah Kelly says:

    So cute!

  2. Sarah Raines says:

    LOVE it TIny Owl!! It’s perfect!

  3. Kristin says:

    This is breathtakingly wonderful!!

  4. violicious says:

    This is so beautiful!!!!

  5. Elizabeth says:

    She is crazy… But those charms are pretty cute.

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Lotta says:

    Oh my goodness! That’s just tooooooo cute! I can definitely see myself making a mobile to hang from the mosquito net over my bed (which is not exactly needed in the Finnish climate so it’s really just a princess canopy). It would make my little sister give even more of those ‘oh, grow up’ kind of sighs, but no matter – if growing up means not having a princess canopy and a magical creature mobile, then I’m fine being a child forever.

    Also super excited about your book! I’ll probably need the Imperius curse to make sure I’ll get it for Christmas – if I can wait that long… ♥

    Love, Lotta from Finland

  7. Stef says:

    I absolutely loooove these! ^_^ so so precious. Also, I ordered the Unofficial Harry Potter Knits and I was so sweetly surprised to see you in it!!! I was hoping for a little pattern, but I’ll just have to buy them here from you instead!!! :3

  8. YOU are a magical creature! Love these!! Looking forward to the next set! And to reading the tasks for each little charming creature!

  9. Awesome, so creative!

  10. xlolliqueenx says:

    My little Harry Potter nerd heart just jumped for joy! I was even very impressed with the vial of acromantula venom XD

  11. HollyAnnHess says:

    What a wonderful imaginative creation!

  12. staebler evelyne says:

    J ADORE!!!!!!!! evelyne from France.

  13. Go halainn ar fád. Iontach. Ba mhaith liom é.

  14. Mom says:

    I’ve passed this along to my Art Charms Yahoo group (next to knitting, that’s my other passion) and definitely want to make these. Your patterns are always so refreshing. Thanks!

  15. kathy says:

    absolutely adorable…just like you!

  16. Elizabeth says:

    I love you!

    Oh and p.s. my kitty phoebe did that exact same thing when we got our hamster. I swear she sat next to the cage, just gazing at the sleeping hamster (’cause they sleep all day!) without moving, for a month. I was really worried about her! But she finally let go and started playing with her toys and being normal again.. It took a while tho’ and she still likes to lie next to the cage. I think she ‘s just keeping her company now.

    xoxoxo
    -pixiewear

  17. I love your videos – it is so wonderful to have tea with you now and then :)

  18. sandandsky says:

    Precious! I love it and look forward to knitting one of my own.

  19. Robin says:

    You should send a press release about this charm bracelet pattern to mugglenet.com as they are interested in all things related to Harry Potter.

  20. tinyowlknits says:

    ooooooh thanks! thats a super great idea :)

  21. Peggy says:

    Well, I can’t stop laughing!!! Oh no, is that complaining??? The mandrake – love it!! The owl, the frog, they’re all too cute!!!

  22. Emily says:

    How beautiful…most definitely on my to do list xx

  23. Aline says:

    Soooo good to see you again! Love the bracelet. I always have to be wearing one everyday and each one is significant so this is perfect. Happy to meet your new hampster, Hagrid. Cuuute. I hope you keep the videos coming. So fun to get those owl news hoots! merci! xoxo

  24. ZOMG. I am dead from the cuteness.

  25. knitalatte1 says:

    Congratulations on your upcoming book release. Looks amazing.
    Loved seeing your video and what you’ve been up too. You are so creative and your new charm bracelet pattern should be a fun project. Thanks for the hoots and the song, sweet!

  26. linda tytko says:

    I would like to order the book but can you sign it for me?

  27. I frickin love you woman!!!! LOL

  28. Melissa Vink says:

    Oh my gosh!!! I am so in love with this! I think I will be doing garland for in front of my desk as a constant reminder of little things done to make this world a better place!! I can’t get enough of you!! You are amazing and I love the song at the end of the video!! It made me crack up! I am super excited about your book!!! I’ve been hoping you’d create a book so that way I have one beautiful book with a collection of your gorgeous designs and your gorgeous personality!! Thank you for being wonderful you!

  29. Thank you for always breathing so much beauty and story into life. You bring such whimsey into the world, and I appreciate that so much. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

  30. pixie says:

    Just so wonderful as ever Stephanie, i cant wait to have a go at making these magical little charms, just one question, are these little beauties in the book as i have pre ordered my copy a few months ago. hoots Pixie x

  31. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you!
    nope they are suuuuper new so they arent in the book :)
    xoxo

  32. tinyowlknits says:

    aw thank you thank you thank you!

  33. tinyowlknits says:

    thank youy! and that is SUCH a good idea to hang it at work! love that.
    someone said today that they felt like hanging the garland was a way of saying
    “this is our family belief system.. helping others”
    that literally made me tear up!

  34. tinyowlknits says:

    hehe thanks! xoxo

  35. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you so much lovley! good to see you!!! yes ive been trying to think of a way to do that.
    i wont actually be selling the books myself.. they will be in stores and online through my publishing companies..
    i think i only get a handful of copies myself.. :(
    email me at tinyowlsmagicattic at gmail and we can see if we can figure something out though :)
    hugs! xooxox

  36. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you so much! xoxo

  37. tinyowlknits says:

    hehe is there a charm for that? :D

  38. tinyowlknits says:

    you too! thanks for your sweet comment here and on the tok board!! huggles xoxo

  39. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks! and ill give you a pass on that complaint :) heheh

  40. pixie says:

    ….Thank you Stephanie for the reply…..heading on over to order the pattern now x

  41. Katia says:

    I love your work so much! You’re a dream :)

  42. lollyknits says:

    I have a friend who would love this to pieces.. Maybe I’ll have to make her one.

  43. Em says:

    I was so enlivened to see this post! I love how you develop each pattern like a precious gift imbued with caring, laughter, joy, and such! How beautiful. Love the idea of making a hanging or even a basket of lovelies to capture such wonderful memories, deeds and thoughts! My favorite, The Pheonix. Resonates with me. Thank you~~~

  44. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you so much! the phoenix was a huge one with me too! soooo healing :) xoxoxo

  45. tinyowlknits says:

    hi lolly!! oooh twin charms! :) xoxoox

  46. Carol Haines says:

    Stephanie…can’t just remember how I found you…a serendipitous moment…your designs speak †o me…thank you for your generosity of spirit in sharing them with us…Carol

  47. tinyowlknits says:

    aw thank you so much!

  48. Cristina says:

    My almost 13 year old son (a very tall boy, btw, already taller than his mom) is fascinated by your videos. He will watch them from beginning to end. I once tried to teach him how to knit and though he picked it up more easily than his sister, it didn´t prosper. However, listening about wool and gnomes and faeries amazes him. Oh, and also looking at your sweet white kitteee.

    (Which makes me very happy, in this Xbox-iPod-zombies universe kids live in nowadays.)

  49. tinyowlknits says:

    aw thats so cool! there are some AWEsome knitting dudes out there! :D

  50. You are just too awesome for words. :D

  51. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks! :) pixie hugs xoxo

  52. Melanie says:

    Oh my goodness Stephanie, you are just too much! But that IS a GOOD thing!!

  53. jen says:

    every time i watch one of your videos, i turn into an 8-year old.

    your charm bracelet is adorable.

    i bought your lovely book. you are wonder full. thank you for all you do.

  54. jen again says:

    oh – and what is that lovely twinkly magical fairie music playing in the background!!?? where can i get me some o that!?

  55. Kim C says:

    Totally in love with this pattern and the wrist warmers someone else did with it too!

Give a hoot here. I love to hear from you!

