*enchanted tree hat*

oooh! a light just went on in that tree.  that means there must be a gnome or pixie family living there!  i just knew this hat was enchanted.
Pull the brown tassel to turn the light *off*. 
Pull the green tassel to turn the light *on*.
The light switch is simply a long i-cord with a yellow bit woven through the tree trunk.  When you pull the i-cord, it slides to reveal a little light!  Presto, the elves are home!
*enchanted tree hat pattern page*   *buy it now link*

leave a comment below to be entered in a drawing to win a free tiny owl knits pattern of your choice! ill pick the winner tomorrow night.

thanks everyone for your yummy love vibe comments! congratulations to the winner drumrolllll pllllleaaaassssseeee! the winning comment chosen at random IS: JANE S!

Jane S. says:

Now that is CUTE! Of course my sister would say I should always leave it off…like nobody’s home inside this head…hmmph!  ;-)

ill be sending you an email jane :) im just sure that someone is home!
happy knits lovelies, i hope you are making your lives beautiful.
love, stephanie xoxo

This entry was posted in the nest. Bookmark the permalink.

209 Responses to *enchanted tree hat*

  1. Amber Fowler says:

    Absolutely adorable!!!! =D

  2. Susan Y says:

    Thank you for the opportunity. I love the new hat!

  3. Jo says:

    You never disappoint !!! Just darling!

  4. Lovely design Tiny Owl! That icord lightswitch is very clever – I’m sure all the tree elves want icord switches for their own homes now. The hat is enchanting and would look equally great with a cluster of leaves instead of tassle. thank for another wonderful design. Sarah

  5. Julie LaFleur says:

    So adorable! I just love your designs!

  6. LauraH says:

    What a fun hat!!!

  7. Saralise says:

    “Ill pay ya next Tuesday, for a hamburger today”. From popeye! (of course I dont eat hamburgers). ;) ;)

  8. Rosa Calzada says:

    It’s very nice. I love your blog. I really like it. Your imagination has no limits.

  9. This is so perfect! Well done!

  10. Carrie says:

    I love your patterns!!!!! I They are soo cute

  11. Gina Zahra says:

    So lovely!!

  12. ADRIENNE DOLD says:

    You are so creative. I love all your patterns.

  13. Ruth Dejam says:

    This is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen! You are so creative. I love your patterns and have your book, Woodland Knits, but this is just the best!

  14. Saralise says:

    P.s.! You have faerie orbs above your head in red! Omg!

  15. kristab says:

    darling little hat stephanie. you never cease to amaze me! I saw this hat in person at MewMew’s yarn shop last weekend in lafayette, co and it was super cute!

  16. Debbie says:

    so cute! I love the idea of the homeowner fairy turning the light off and on.

  17. lollyknits says:

    This is so clever and cute!!!!

  18. Sinead S says:

    I love it! All your designs are just amazing.

  19. Toni Duesing says:

    WOW! You are the medicine of the day! After stressing over tax day, I get your email and now I have stopped stressing and cannot stop smiling.

    Just heard on the news that the IRS workers are depressed…duh…we’ll they should all take a day off and discover the curative power of knitting Tiny Owl Knits.

    Thank you for sharing your magical spirit.

  20. Debra domby says:

    Wow….the gnomes have lights…love,love,love. What’s not to love?

  21. Your creativity amazes me, love them all.

  22. Lixivia says:

    Wonderful! I love your elfy artistic vision!

  23. Jess Anne Cole says:

    Your patterns are so unique! You are extremely creative.

  24. Patricia Paulson says:

    You never cease to amaze!! Just darling, another winner.

  25. I LOVE the interactive element!! So clever!

  26. Danita Schwaller says:

    Oh how I love the creative things you come up with! This is a beautiful hat!

  27. Dorne says:

    Gorgeous 😊

  28. Em says:

    You always design the most enchanting things! Great job :)

  29. Andrea says:

    What a wonderful hat, and fabulous idea!

  30. Harrise says:

    Whenever I see you and your patterns, I am transported into a magical place!! LOVE to see you and your amazing creations!! :)

  31. Lali says:

    This is imagination + knowledge at its best…crazy adorable !!!

  32. Fuego Azul says:

    This is ingenious & too awesome!!! It reminds me of the popular book “Gnomes” by Wil Huygen & Rien Poortivliet. It’s too warm where I live to wear hats, but I don’t care!! I must make this!!! Great job!!! :)

    p.s. (Do you think Ruby might be pregnant? I know it sounds silly, but my grandmother saved her cat from the pound. She started getting heavy & the vet said to put her on a diet. Next thing we know, her cat’s a momma!)

    p.p.s. Any violets in your garden? Or primroses? Fairies apparently love these two plants; & ingesting violet tea supposedly helps you see them too. ;)

  33. Jan Marriott says:

    where everdid you get such a fun idea……a hoot!

  34. kim says:

    so cool! i would love to win a pattern!!

  35. Sarah says:

    Adorable, as usual.

  36. Abby Morrison says:

    This is why I love your designs! You are so freaking clever. Thanks for sharing!

  37. Heather says:

    Wow you are so creative I love it!

  38. Stephanie S says:

    Ooh hoo hoo! I love it. Now I have the thought too of two little blinky lights, and when you pull the string, Mr Owl wakes up and blinks his little eyes! <3 <3 <3

  39. Jesse Peeters says:

    This hat is so cute…I would-be love to live in that tree and turn the light on whenever thee is ready for all the woodfolk…thank you!

  40. Stephanie Fleming says:

    I love it and want to make one with lights! What a fantastic idea!!

  41. CobyLyn says:

    Stephanie, you are magic! Spring has sprung, the grass has riz. I wonder where the flowers is? Lol! :) I love your cat, your hat and your wonderful videos! X

  42. heathermd33 says:

    It’s absolutely lovely!!

  43. Laura says:

    Great design! Very clever.

  44. Ali says:

    What!!!! Your ideas are so where the wild thing live and breathe! What an inspiration you are. Well done again for another superb pattern. Xoxo

  45. Jenny says:

    Wow! What a clever idea! This is so fanciful and adorable.

  46. Wanda says:

    So flippin’ cute!!!!!! I love it!!!!!!! I can just imagine the mousies coming by to visit when the light is on!!!! Love it!!!!!!!

  47. Nichol Davis says:

    Absolutely adorable!!!!! Love it!!!!!

  48. Donna says:

    Well, that’s just wonderful!

  49. Anne Markel says:

    So clever!

  50. Oh how cute! I am mysteriously drawn to both the light and wool…(I’m not a moth though don’t worry!)

  51. Susan mitloff says:

    Too hoot.. Oops I mean cute! Hope I win

  52. Tess says:

    A light just went on in my head … I need to have a hat with a light on on my head! So cute, as usual. Thank you for your creative gifts.

  53. Joei says:

    It’s magical!

  54. Julia says:

    This is sooo cute! Reminds me of the tree from the Lion King <3

  55. Marianna says:

    Ever so pretty…what a beautiful fairy tale hat :) a must have for any girl’s wardrobe :)

  56. Maddy says:

    That is so creative and adorable! My goodness ^-^

  57. Rita says:

    Another great Tiny Owls idea!!!!

  58. Ann says:

    This is going to be my knitting hat. If the light is on, you can talk to me. If it is off, I am counting and should not be disturbed!

  59. Penny Warner says:

    So excited to knit this clever hat. This is my second pattern purchased from you, the detail and creativity you bring to knitting is wonderful! Thanks for being you. :)

  60. Ani says:

    That is so clever. It is absolutely adorable and I know the perfect pixie to give it to

  61. Jen says:

    What a truly creative and magical hat! Your video was great – I really enjoy your videos. You are so happy, inspiring and truly fun to watch. And Ruby, hahaha, she definitely steals your thunder. My oldest son (8 yrs old) was laughing at Ruby’s pose. Keep making the magic, you are truly talented!

  62. Jane S. says:

    Now that is CUTE! Of course my sister would say I should always leave it off…like nobody’s home inside this head…hmmph! ;-)

  63. dianeperazzo says:

    Love it! Great idea about the light. You are awesome Stephanie!

  64. Ember says:

    That is the coolest thing I have seen in a long time!!!

  65. Lizzie says:

    Wow that’s so creative! I love it.

  66. Danielle says:

    This is so adorable. Just magical like all of your patterns.

  67. Oooh! Thats so cute and creative! I’d love to house my own little gnome or pixie family. :)

  68. Linda Rumsey says:

    Magical!

  69. feather says:

    I love this enchanted hat. Brilliant! The tassels look so cute, and the light is perfect. Thank you!

  70. chickenbee says:

    Oh my! Wait til I show my bff Belinda this! I love it! We will squeeee together! You have such wonderful patterns :)

  71. rebecca says:

    soooo cute!

  72. Laurie L. says:

    Ha! Magic! Light on, and a Big Smile! Best hat ever! Most wonderful, clever happy trick ever!

  73. bgirl says:

    <3 Your designs are so creative and unique, I only wish I could knit faster so I had them all! <3

  74. Susan Forman says:

    Love the hat. And adore your kitty. So so cute

  75. Bronwyn says:

    I really enjoy how you are just YOU! The hat is really cute, I think my son needs one!

  76. Brandy says:

    That’s so adorable! I love it!

  77. BishopKnitter says:

    I really enjoyed the video with Ruby. She looks so soft & cuddly. I can’t wait to knit the hat. It’s genius!

  78. Paper Elf says:

    Oh my… I love it!

  79. Sally A. says:

    Another wonderfully whimsical pattern from you. Love it!!! ^^

  80. Jo says:

    Magical! What will you think of next my dear????

  81. Meredith says:

    Love your patterns!

  82. Frances says:

    This is pure magic!

  83. Carole Cole says:

    The hat is perfect, Stephanie. I thought that it would be lit up with some kind of little LED lights and was so happy to find that it was a simpler kind of light. I wish we could incude photos for you, because my cat is a solid black Ruby who lies on her back when totally blissed and holds her front paws up against her chest like a kangaroo. Then we call her Kangaruby. It took 5 years to name her (she’s 10), because I thought she hated me – tricked me into taking her home from the shelter – and then turned her back on me. She knew I’d feed her anyway. When she finally got me to understand that she didn’t hate me, she just hated other cats, she banished all other cats and I complied. I named her Ruby Tuesday and it’s been all lovey dovey, all the time, every since. I think when they expose their bellies and relax in our company it’s because they are totally trusting us.

  84. Ann Johnson says:

    Sparkle fairy dust!! Hope I get to make one of your magical patters :)

  85. Caryn Uebelacker says:

    I love this hat! I’m in the process of making my own beekeepers quilt too!!

  86. Sarah says:

    I <3 your new hat!

  87. Enid says:

    I am 79young and I would still wear it

  88. Candice says:

    I love this hat!!! So so cute

  89. Henrike says:

    Oh it is lovely! I love your detailed designs! <3

  90. Raymond Stephens says:

    I love all the photos of you have I got your permission to do a pencil drawing for the coloured pencil art society please Enid

    >

  91. deborah says:

    My daughter is going to be so cool walking around New York City in this hat. Well done!@

  92. Kendra Fletcher says:

    I don’t even know who I’m making this for. I just have to make it!

  93. Tiffeny says:

    Oh wow! I am in awe!

  94. Victoria says:

    I absolutely LOVE the fairy light! Soooo cute and magical! I can just imaging a little friend sneaking out to peek on the world abroad as they travel in the tree.

  95. Dixie says:

    An absolutely enchanting hat! It’s beyond sweet and clever too!

  96. Linda N. says:

    Love the tree and especially the light. Really nice!

  97. Suzanara says:

    Oh that hat is so adorable and genius idea to put lights in it,so cute!!x

  98. Maria L says:

    Such a fun, interesting hat! I can’t wait to make this.

  99. molly says:

    i have a number of grandchildren who need to have these hats!

  100. elysa222 says:

    This is the most fabulous thing ever. Genius!

  101. jocelyn says:

    What an ingenious idea!!! You are so amazingly talented coming up with these ideas and BEAUTIFUL patterns!!! I always look forward to watching your latest videos too –they are wonderful!!! THANKS!!!!

  102. So incredibly inventive! Thank you for sharing your ideas with the rest of us. I can’t wait to see what you dream up next — and for your winter idea!

  103. Pennyvae says:

    So happy I discovered Tiny Owl Knits! It is so much fun to see what you create and to be able to make them too! I just finished my third pair of Moonkossa boots, I love them so!!! Don’t stop your videos, please. I look forward to watching them during my hide-a-way time!!

  104. Diane U says:

    What a brilliant idea! Perfect for the Story Lady at the library too.

  105. Denise says:

    Genius! I love it and can’t wait to make my own :)

  106. Stephanie says:

    Eeeeeeeeee this is wonderful :D :D :D I’ve never done stranded work, but I think this will be the perfect project to motivate me to learn :) And the light is the best best best part :)

  107. Shannan DeSoye says:

    Wow, I love it. Went on my to knit list the moment I saw it.

  108. cwknitnut says:

    That is a truly novel idea! I love it

  109. Robyn Jones says:

    I’m new to Tiny Owl Knits! Just bought your book…finishing off a crochet poncho so I can get started on some of your most beautiful designs! I love this hat and can think of so many of my beautiful friends I can make it for…and one for me and my daughter too!x

  110. Karen says:

    Love. It. Your designs are delightful!

  111. xlolliqueenx says:

    I always love it when you do videos because it just feels like you’re a good friend of mine sitting down with me for a video chat! You’re such a lovely person and you have a beautiful soul! It just makes me smile! Ruby is a beauty too! ;)

    The had is so adorable too! You’re always so creative with your knits and I wish I could be!

  112. Ayla says:

    ugh this is the cleverest thing in the world. <3

  113. Kim-prplbflywngs says:

    As always, enchanting and unique. *hugs* and *hoots*
    Xx

  114. Sarah says:

    This is amazing! Every time I finish a pattern you’ve put up another great one! Awoo!

  115. Susanne Feinour says:

    Thank you for your beautiful patterns. My daughter and I love them! The tree is awesome<3.

  116. Wendy Smith says:

    Such an adorable and different hat! Love it.

  117. Katherine says:

    Very cute design!

  118. Erika Summers says:

    Knitting the Enchanted tree hat will be a wonderful start to spring. As Mother Nature is planting her garden, I will be tending my garden of a tree for fairies to take refuge.

  119. dewdaisy says:

    Whenever I’m feeling low,
    And need a little glow,
    I’ll tweak my hat,
    And fancy that,
    My inner light will show!

  120. Elizabeth says:

    That is awesome!

  121. Sharon says:

    Pure adorable genius as always! Thank you for whimsy and joy you share with all.

  122. LadyBugsyJane says:

    I WILL be getting this pattern. If I win it, I’ll just spend that money on yarn to make it! Too adorable, I love your patterns

  123. Deb Bailey says:

    I love the enchanted tree pattern,such a magical idea..I have never seen anything like it…

  124. kazkitty says:

    So adorable and creative! :)

  125. virginia says:

    You are brilliant, and so creative and charming! I love the new pattern, brava!

  126. Katie says:

    Stephanie, you’re just so cute! 😊. Thank you for your patterns & your sweet spirit!

  127. sewincolor says:

    Another great pattern! Such a cute hat! I love that little light! You’re awesome, Stephanie.

  128. Deanna says:

    Your creativity knows no limits! How darling!

  129. Crystal says:

    Love the light :) tonight we had a lavender colored sunset :)

  130. Sara Crafts says:

    That hat is just too cute! And what an easy ingenious way to do it.

  131. Elizabeth says:

    Oh, this little tree is so precious! I love the idea :)

  132. tiggerknitter says:

    I *thought* I had sworn off hats for this year, but it looks like I was wrong! :)

  133. Love the hat! The little light is adorable!

  134. Gina says:

    So cute, I love it! I love all of the things you make!!

  135. Angie Daggett says:

    Love your patterns, this is too cute!!

  136. vbarton24 says:

    love your new pattern. you are so talented.

  137. Elizabeth Blatter says:

    Love the tree hat and all your patterns, and always happy to support a fellow Wisconsinite!

    -EB

  138. Talee says:

    Oooh that’s a super cute idea! I wonder wht else you could make with that idea.
    Your patterns are always so adorable and creative!
    Thank you for the freebie opportunity and congrats to whoever gets it! :3

  139. violet6409 says:

    What a fabulous pattern, I can’t wait to try it! Magical, as always! And I always enjoy watching your videos:-) You’re an inspiration!

  140. Mert says:

    Amazing! I am always enchanted by your patterns.

  141. Lupe Clark says:

    Just bought it, can’t wait to knit it.

  142. Melody Baldwin says:

    What a fun pattern! Your cleverness never ceases to amaze me. Love your patterns and your book lots! Have a great Spring!

  143. Melody Baldwin says:

    Can we buy the pattern on revelry? I never win anything.

  144. samantha says:

    Oh, I love it! Very clever!

  145. KateP says:

    A lovely hat; whether it lights up or not!

  146. doubleoxm says:

    Omggggg this is fabulous!!!!! I was still wondering how it’ll be troublesome to put a battery LED light in there hahha!!!! You’re a genius. So inspirational I can’t wait to make this!!!

  147. Elizabeth says:

    I love the enchanted tree hat! The light is so clever :) I want to make one for my sister, she would love it!!

  148. Amanda FALSON says:

    Gorgeous pattern! Love all your patterns but would make this immediately for my daughter!!

  149. Cathy Koos Breazeal says:

    Just the hat for a midnight stroll!

  150. Donna Dalzell says:

    So Amazingly Sweet !! – this hat is making me wish I was a Nana already (which I’m not yet) but I will make it for when the time is right!!

  151. butterflysparkledesigns says:

    That’s such a cute idea!

  152. Tone Vold says:

    Awsome! Love it!

  153. Barbora says:

    winter please come back for a few days so I can wear this adorable hat not looking like a fool in 20°C..

  154. Georgina says:

    Count me in lovely! X

  155. Minja says:

    Thank You for making me smile with the light!

  156. Neha says:

    Love love love it :)

  157. Vee says:

    Just love it, so so cute and lovely like the rest of your patterns :) xx

  158. Hang B says:

    ❤️How amazingly cute!❤️

  159. Diana says:

    I love love LOVE that hat! It’s magical, you`re always great!

  160. Another amazingly cute pattern! I loved your book and I have a list of all your patterns on Ravelry I want too! Love your work. It’s adorable! 😍

  161. Sue says:

    What a gorgeous design, I LOVE the at home lighting!

  162. emma says:

    what a magical little hat! and I loved your video. it snowed here last night so it really cheered me up…and I wish I could cuddle ruby! what a hoot. xxx p.s. as soon as it warms up a bit I’m going to plant some thyme!

  163. Amanda says:

    I love your patterns. Can’t get enough of your designs. Blessed be.

  164. Niki Reid says:

    Perfect for Spring as the trees come into leaf! Simply Gorgeous!

  165. Stephanie says:

    That’s brilliant! Love your ideas!

  166. Mariana says:

    That is a cute hat! The idea for the light is clever… I ♥ your desings.

  167. Ada says:

    The hat is so awesome and amusing, just like you :)
    Love your imagination and creativity!

  168. sue hudson says:

    Wonderful – again!!!

  169. Meg Caulmare says:

    You are so full of delightful creativity, I really envy that. I love to knit your patterns because sometimes they open up some creativity in me, too. Keep up the great work. I wonder if I could put an owl in my enchanted tree, and when the cord is pulled its eyes could open, too….

  170. Claire D says:

    Oh my goodness, this is the most simple yet creatively brilliant idea ever. Want!

  171. angela miller says:

    You are so brilliant! I love all of your designs <3

  172. that’s a neat idea.

  173. Dewi says:

    I love it! Such a great idea!

  174. Love love love it!

  175. penney kolb says:

    Ach, your cleverness knows no bounds!

  176. Deborah says:

    Hoot-hoot! I love hats and this one is just charming and fun. I can’t wait to add one to my hat collection.

  177. Lucy McLaurin says:

    Love love love it!

  178. linda gaylord says:

    Thank you for the giveaway! I would love to make your moonkoosa boots for my dear daughter.she is such fairy sprite,free spirit,gift from the fey.I can just picture her dancing through the woods,in boots the color of the forest floor….<3

  179. Aliki says:

    Love this!!!! It’s super cute! Thank you so much :)

  180. Max says:

    So much fun! I think those gnomes are playing with the light switch too much though.

  181. nancy says:

    So so so cute. My granddaughters will love this. Grand neices, too. So clever.

  182. Pam says:

    I’ve always believed in gnomes and fairies. You have just proven that with your wonderful, charming hat. I’ve go to make one for myself and granddaughter! We have fairy houses out in our woods so perhaps the gnomes will come too!

  183. What a great idea. You’re so creative and full of magical patterns. Lovely photos too! Especially I love the one with changing image when the light turns on and off ♥ I’m so happy that I have found your beautiful designs. Happy coming Easter time! Haven’t got the hopsalots yet but I think that those would be perfect now during Easter time ;)

  184. You come up with the cutest ideas. I’d never considered an interactive hat!

  185. Laurel Ryan says:

    I’m probably old enough to be your nana, but I just love your “magique” and generosity!

  186. Tina says:

    Love the hat! Such a magical design!

  187. Serena says:

    Well, if that isn’t the cutest thing…

  188. Alisa Cortez says:

    Love the hat! Am currently knitting some fun little things to renew the supply of babydoll clothes and accessories at my little kids’ school and also teaching my 8-year-old to knit. She is always “enchanted” to see your lovely patterns!!!

  189. Carolyn says:

    The pixies are waiting to meet you tonight
    Close your eyes and believe,
    And you’ll see their bright light.
    They’ll lead you to places you know from your dreams
    Where wishes come true and you bathe in moonbeams.

    Wonderful design. I love it. Quite magical

  190. Lullaby says:

    Love it ! Magical, natural… and a touch of trick ^^

    A French “tricotteuse” who likes your patterns a lot.

  191. Lullaby says:

    (trik as in “trickster” I mean, you know, sorry, with my English ^^”)

  192. Erin Kaye says:

    Wow! that’s all I can say. Wow!

  193. Sharon says:

    I was wondering just yesterday when your next post/pattern would happen and here you are with a very imaginative tree disguised as a hat!!

  194. Rachel says:

    Seeing a new pattern from you always makes my day :) The light switch i-cord is genius!

  195. You just make my queue grow ever bigger.

  196. Pam Stewart says:

    Wow! So cute!!!

  197. Lisa chambers says:

    Love it.

  198. Carol says:

    I love your creativity!

  199. Aline says:

    thank you for the new video!! hugs to miss ruby-doo! congrats for your new design. xo

  200. Linda says:

    Wow, so creative and fun! thank you for your inspiration and talents shared.

  201. Cinda says:

    That is too cute!!!!!!!!

  202. Heidruna says:

    Very wondrous and magical <3 (By the way, about your blog: it is muchly missed!)

  203. Marilee says:

    Oh, I love it! Soooo cute!

  204. Karen R says:

    OMG!! That is so adorable and very clever!! <3 it!!! ;)

  205. Miss Manitas says:

    Love it!

  206. Emma Deerful says:

    Oh my gosh, this is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I think I need to make one before it gets really cold here.

Give a hoot here. I love to hear from you!

