moving from the blue rest nest


a few months ago… ruby and i travelled over the ocean from england back to america.
we rested and revived in a blue rest nest with tiny books, sparkle lights and ghosts.  
we waited.. and waited.. we clicked our needles a bit and meowed some.  we didnt feel like doing much really.. mostly we sat under carolina pines, or we rested on the grass.
dr. hoot was there too. he watched from his cage and reminded us that mice are nice. 
we put lavender, cedarwood, bay laurel and patchouli in every eave and every corner.

we recharged a lot of our heart in our little blue nest just by watching the birds,
by collecting lots of heart-shaped stones and small wooden treasure boxes,
and by burning lots of incense, pinecones, sweetgrass and sage under blue lights.
it was a lot like tending mushrooms under the dark forest moss. it takes some time.
then one day last week… we took our paws off of the spinning wheel, we packed up our
tumblestones and drove to the mountains. (ruby didnt even mind that part too much.)
and now we are right where we are going to stay!  the hooks, needles & yarn have been unpacked and dusted off.   there is a brand new pine tree… and mountain horizons…
and now its time to bring more treasures into being on this brand new blue planet!

This entry was posted in the nest. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to moving from the blue rest nest

  1. Nancy Miller says:

    Lovin pictures of all your treasures–it so so special to surround yourself with objects that make you smile from the inside.

  2. Jill says:

    Can’t even tell you how much I’ve missed a hoot from yoo(t?) Nothing since Heartfelt Rings!!!! My needles have been hungry for another tinyowlknits pattern to devour (you can only have so many rings, ya know!) Hope your move was a safe, smooth, peaceful one. Hope you and Ruby are very happy in your new digs. Looking foward to the very latest new tinyowlknits posts and patterns! Glad to have you back.

  3. Luinwen says:

    Lovely pictures of all the nice little things everyone collects and makes one happy! And you have such lovely little things! And I am glad, that you finally come to a place to stay!

  4. Nicki says:

    Hey Stephanie – wondered where you had been hiding – glad you have found a place to nest. Miss you x

  5. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks lovelies!🙂 ♥ kisses all around!
    it is SO good to be welcomed back to work
    especially after a reeeallllly nice (perhaps a lil longer than anticipated) break ♥

  6. Laura says:

    Glad you’re in a good spot and looking forward to seeing what delights it inspires in you!
    I ALWAYS get compliments when I wear my Woodland hood, BTW. It’s such a nice blend of whimsy & practicality.

  7. beardedowl says:

    “To go to the woods is to go home” -John Muir.
    May you be comforted in the soft morning light and perfumed by the earth.

  8. Dona says:

    Stephanie, I’m so glad you are settling in and have this move behind you now. Enjoy and create!
    Hoots ~{^v^}~ Dona xx

  9. Sally at RivendaleFarms says:

    Welcome back stateside! You’ve definitely been missed!

  10. Karin says:

    Hi there,

    It all Looks so beautiful and friendly!
    Did you move to USA?
    I still would like to send a picture of the hexagram throw i made!

    Greetings from Germany

    Karin

  11. Margaret says:

    I just want you to know that your blog and your website make my day very light and magical in feeling. It is good to find places and peoples that make you feel inspired and creative and (even though I don’t know you) very hugged.
    Blessings on your day
    margaret

  12. Holly says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts
    and spiritual inspiration process. It reminds me that waiting
    is just as much a part of the creative as manifesting.

  13. Lovely to hear of your adventures in America! I hope your spring continues to unfold beautifully.

  14. Sue Byrne says:

    Really sorry to lose you! But home is definitely where the heart is.

    Have just started two pairs of sweet robin wristees as Easter presents for my granddaughters.

  15. Pauline Philip says:

    I told my daughter in law about your workshop in Gastonia. She lives in Charlotte. She LOVED it and meeting you. She is not a very experienced knitter, but she got so much out of it. I live in Oregon now, but visit the Carolina’s every June. I am betting you are in Ashland near the Penland School of Crafts. Maybe this June you will have something going on that I can attend? You sound sad. Please don’t be.

  16. Donna says:

    I’m so pleased to know you’re back and in a happy, sweet place. Looking forward to seeing more of your delightful posts in the future.

    heart donna

  17. meppybn says:

    I know how it is – to have to rest and recharge after a life-changing event – the courage and strength needed are enormous. Knitting has been a solace to my soul and am so looking forward to lots of lovelies from you once you’re settled🙂

  18. Maureen says:

    Welcome HOME!

  19. Linda B says:

    Welcome Home!!!!

  20. tinyowlknits says:

    oh thank you so much lovelies!
    its so great to be welcomed back to the world! hhehe
    and no im not too sad i promise🙂
    i always just feel a little sweet wistfulness when changing scenery🙂
    (and beginning again)

  21. Kim says:

    I just Love your new space. It seems so full of light and love. It is great to hear from you again. Enjoy your new digs and the spring.

  22. It’s good to hear from you again! I am coveting all of your furniture and your chatskis! I keep willing Mary Poppins to show up and start singing my home into shape. I guess she stays away from homes where the parents raise their own kids….oh well…

    I’m looking forward to hearing more you –and not to be redundant, but beautiful photos!

  23. AuntyNitty says:

    Your home seems magical. I can almost smell the woodsmoke and lavender…
    I never underestimate the power of hibernation or the rejuvenating qualities of making things with wool.
    A retreat in the woods. How wonderful to spend part of life’s journey there.

  24. Sue says:

    It was so lovely to read your new post I am fairly new to your blog and just love your designs. I have been busy knitting your felted rings and also had a go at making a bracelet to match which worked quite well.
    I hope the mountains inspire you and I look forward to some more amazing designs.
    Sue

  25. Peggy says:

    Ah!!!! What a lovely nest you and Ruby have. Looks so comfy. Glad you are settling in. Can’t wait to see what the woods will inspire you to create.

  26. SolarSoda says:

    Thrilled to pieces to see you back in the groove again. Can’t wait to see what you create next!🙂

  27. Alma says:

    happy to see you back!!! can’t wait to see your new creations😉

  28. Marybeth says:

    You’ve inspired me to take a week’s vacation and turn my little home into a magical place.

  29. winterfi says:

    welcome home! oh my goodness, what a beautiful blog post! xxxooxxx

  30. Aline says:

    I’ve been thinking about you! Enjoyed your lovely pictures. Hugs. xxx

  31. pam says:

    Thank you for sharing with us, really enjoyed your pics. Someone has already said, Wishing you many blessings in your new home!
    Hugs,
    Lemony

  32. luv2knit says:

    I love your website, it’s really inspiring to see, as a young knitter, all the different things you can do with just yarn and some needles. I like it how your never afraid to be yourself, and that I’m not alone in the knitting world.

  33. Your houses are so lucky to have you. The ghosts must weep with joy when you arrive. So many treasures and such beautiful words. xx

  34. kniterly says:

    Congrats on a successful (and FINISHED, I know it’s stressful) move. Your digs are an inspiration.

  35. baamekniits says:

    What a beautiful nest! Happy nesting🙂

  36. lunefantasy says:

    it’s a beautiful nest, charming and so cosy, Fairies and Pickies would be happy in this place.
    a lot of things to make their little world in yours !!!

  37. Suzanne says:

    Finally you can nest, must feel goooood. Cuddle a bit more with Ruby for me, does Ruby feel at home yet? Lovely post!

  38. kathytny says:

    I love your blue nest. Lovely photos, lovely words….. you are a true artist in all sense of the word!!! Hugs to Ruby!

  39. upwithcycle says:

    Do you know what the I Spy books are?

    Your beautiful treasure pictures make me think of those.🙂
    I wish you very much courage and happiness in your new scenery.
    xo❤ (cheriefrancis)

  40. Melissa says:

    It is so great to see you blogging again! I love your designs, vlogs, and blog postings…they always make me happy!! I love your treasures!! You have such an uplifting personality!!! Always looking forward to new post notifications in my inbox. You have such a lovely nest!!

  41. Debbie Kuhn says:

    Enjoy your new home. Love all your little collections and owls and birds. I have a collections of heart shaped stones also (only 4) One was found on my honeymoon on the shores of a bay in Maine and the other given to me by my husband who had saved it years ago before we met.

    Looking forward to more whimsical (magical) patterns from you. Slowly working on the beekeeper’s quilt. So fun!!

  42. I moved here to Franklin from Florida. The spring here is almost as lovely as England’s. My weeping cherry tree is blooming. A bit more snow next winter would be nice. I love your designs. I have keepsakes from my great grandfather and great uncle from England.

  43. KnitterPam says:

    Hoots to you, my friend! I’m so glad you’re posting again. I missed your fun posts. Dare we hope for a video again soon? Or a personal skype call?🙂 I was hoping you’d stop in Nashville on your way to the mtns, but I bet you were in a hurry to get there…

  44. I raise my teacup Stephanie to your special new beginnings! To home sweet home, Ren xxx Ive been thinking of you and hoping that the move went well!

  45. Em says:

    Oh my goodness! Rocks and minerals and trees and trees and mountains all rolled into one beautiful dreamy landscape blending your oh so peaceful space into the inspiring landscape beyond? A dream to behold and you describe it so well…enjoy your new place!🙂
    (ps…love the mossy terarium…)

  46. Lindsay Jewell says:

    🙂

  47. Kathy Annis says:

    I luuuuuv the evergreen although I would do an everfall since they are my faave colors. Its so creative and lovely. Love this page and going to start the bekeepers just have to gater my thin yarn!!

  48. Barbara LeFleur says:

    Smart girl, tending to your heart. It is the first to cry and often the last to be attended to when big moves are underway. Best wishes for happiness in your new home, and I’ll look forward to many more beautiful creations emanating from your direction.

  49. knitxcore says:

    there must be soooo many good vibrations! me and the kittehs are dancing in the smoke of a lil’ nag champa right now❤

  50. Outi says:

    oh dear, to all of this.

    your home looks most amazing. mine’s quite alike, only with more reds and oranges.

  51. karen says:

    You’re new home looks lovely. Wishing you much magical creating there and much happiness.
    One of these days I will get around to picking up a pair of knitting needles and improving my awful knitting ability, solely so that I can knit a ‘tiny owl knit’ pattern. x

  52. phoebe-bird says:

    I’m so happy that you’ve found a new place to set up the nest ♥
    and I hope that it becomes a home to you… because we all need a place to curl up sometimes.
    Love,
    -Abi

Give a hoot here. I love to hear from you!

