the narnia wardrobe & the new fae digs


whew! after moving 3 times in 7 months im finally unpacking all of my boxes for good!  ive been in colorado for a few months but finding a place to rent has been super hard… magically, due to a mistake with the rental listing, we were the only ones to even see this sweet little house right on the edge of a lake and bird sanctuary!  luckily we snapped it up right away.  there are horses outside our bedroom window and they swish their tails back and forth all day long.  i cant wait to go down and pet the white one with brown spots.  i feel so so lucky to finally have all of my things under one roof in a sweet house filled with love and light.  typical me, i set up my bookshelves (and foolishly attempted to put all of my yarn in the narnia wardrobe) before even considering cups, bowls and spoons. so far ive filled the kitchen cabinets up with candles, beads, letters and handy-man tools. this morning when mr. owl was looking for a cereal bowl i had to suggest that he may possibly have to use ruby’s… that. did not work. he did not like… ill be going out today to procure some wares for making food or things like that in that place people call “the kitchen.”(here is a picture of ruby lou soaking in the faerie vibes in her little reading nook.)
so all of this settling in happens just in time to unpack my samples and go to TNNA!  im sharing a booth in the deep south fibers section with alex tinsley. i hope lots of people will stop in and pet the fox and say hello. im so looking forward to meeting lots of folks!

This entry was posted in the nest. Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to the narnia wardrobe & the new fae digs

  1. Squishy10 says:

    So glad you’ve found some roots🙂

  2. fiona says:

    oh! sounds lovely! hope you have a fabulous time in ohio🙂
    ♥ fiona (winterfi) xx

  3. Michelle says:

    Good to hear from you. Note: rental listing was not a mistake, it was MAGIC (or the faeries doing their jobs) !

  4. Holly says:

    We love your Narnia Cabinet!
    Did you create it?

  5. Eva says:

    I love the room in the first photo! and I especially love the German sentence on your wardrobe🙂

  6. meppybn says:

    A lakeside house, no less, so worth waiting for🙂 happy settling in and wish us bourgoisie could go to TNNA !!

  7. AuntyNitty says:

    I think that someone wished the listings to be mixed up and for you to be there when you were….

  8. Linda says:

    So you are in Colorado? Me too🙂 The Colorado Renaissance Fest is every weekend this month and next in Larkspur. I highly recommend!

  9. Your room is just lovely. I hope that you will be happy in your new home. Maggie (Loire Valley , France)

  10. lunefantasy says:

    fairy home !!!!
    so delicious and marvelous

  11. Stephanie says:

    I can almost see the fairy dust settling! Have a wonderful new chapter in your lovely abode.

  12. Karen Boehlert says:

    You are like a breath of fresh air! I feel a smile come over my face as I read your post and I wish you much contentment in your new home.

  13. Heidi says:

    So good to hear from you, and that you are doing well!!😀

  14. Pauline Spinks says:

    Oh Sweety I am so glad you are finally settled in.
    The house sounds lovely, and Ruby looks very happy there.
    Love the painted cupboard!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Love you Steph

  15. baamekniits says:

    I love that photo of Ruby lou and the fairy…..magic!

  16. Love your Narnia Wardrobe! Good on you for finding a place you enjoy –and with horsies! Yay!😄

  17. dorothy says:

    ruby lou ❤ i love you!
    it’s so funny, my daisy moomin sits in the sun by an almost identical fairy! (pity i don’t have an identical wardrobe, that would be amazing!)
    your new nest is adorable and filled with the prettiest magic, i wish you every joy in it xx
    horses are wonderful muses, particularly lakeside eponas.

  18. Sally at Rivendale Farms says:

    Welcome to Colorado!! I agree, no mistake on the listing, the house was just waiting for you to find it. What part of the state are you in? (I still owe you an alpaca fleece, much easier to send it to you now!)

    Sally

  19. Louise McKay says:

    Looks like you found a wonderful dreamy, inspiring place, as you should. enjoy!

  20. pamela says:

    It looks like the most perfect Hobbit house ever! Does it have a round, yellow door?
    I wish you many, many happy days there – with lots of owls in the trees outside your bedroom window. Wish I was making the journey to Columbus this weekend – I know it will be fabulous. My knitting teacher and friend is going. Perhaps you’ll meet her there! xoxo

  21. nook. says:

    what an absolutely beautiful space! i can’t imagine having to move that often in such a short period of time, but i’m so happy you’ve found the perfect nook😉 love it. and i love also that yarn took prescident over dishes. YES. hope you settle in nicely. super envious of your attending TNNA.. one year i’ll make it there… it’s a promise to myself😉 xo

  22. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you so ooooo sooo much for all of the amazing well wishes!! i was out getting plates and things so im just having a chance to read this now and im tearing up by the end with all the sweet energy in all of your words! ♥ the german cabinet was a craigslist find. i was looking for a yarn wardrobe and that popped up and i yelped! i called her and heard back from her within the hour. it was ridiculously cheap and i had to call in a favor to help me go pick it up🙂

  23. Hey there Sistar!

    So proud of all the light work you are doing everywhere that you have been thus far! Keep spreading your faerie wing dust! Sparkly fabulaous!!!!!

    Saralise

  24. That cabinet is amazing and it looks like a beautiful place to be. I always look forward to your posts as they always contain a sprinkle of fairy dust! Have fun settling in to your new home!

  25. I mean the house’s setting looks like a beautiful place to me – not the cabinet. Although I’m sure the inside of it is lovely too!

  26. Joy says:

    Sounds perfectly idyllic, like it was meant to be yours all along. I am adoring the Narnia cupboard, so adorable. Glad you are settled even if the Mr is a bit hungry.

  27. Trudy says:

    Good to see you have your priorities in order!!!
    What a lovely place you found.

  28. kathytny says:

    Just a lovely little home you have set up for yourself. I love the sun soaking feline!

  29. Judith Curl says:

    It sounds delightful and I am sure you will enjoy it. Love your cupboard! I wish I could visit the stand but France is just a step too far!

  30. Karen says:

    The picture of Ruby is too cute! Glad you’ve found a place to settle for awhile!

  31. upwithcycle says:

    Welcome to your sweet new home!
    Z.Om.Grack!!! I loooooooooooooooooooooove that cabinet!!! And how you found it!!
    I might’ve had to tussle you for it, if I’d seen it first.
    Love tussle,
    xoxox
    Diane (snowforest, cheriefrancis, etc.)

  32. upwithcycle says:

    P.s. me again…
    i pinned your narnia wardrobe room pic on my pinterest board – if that’s not okay, just tell me & i’ll unpin it.
    P.p.s. who needs bowls?🙂

  33. Lorainne says:

    I’m glad you’re finally home! (:

    Oh, and one more thing:
    That. Wardrobe. Is. Amazing. I want one!❤

  34. Ellouise88 says:

    Ooooooh! Narnia wardrobe – I want one!

  35. I loved reading your post! Reading about the swishing horses’ tails made me feel all warm and calm. Have a beautiful summer! I hope you moved to somewhere near a great yarn store.

  36. KnitterPam says:

    Have I ever mentioned how jealous I am that you get to go to TNNA now? Without me? Why oh why couldn’t you go when I used to go? Happy Belated Birthday – would love to skype sometime soon. I’ll be home Sat/Sun…

  37. Linda Tytko says:

    Dear Stephanie,
    I had the best time in the world meeting you. Thanks for all the pictures and were are going to be knitting like faries and gnomes all your designs at the store, I will post pictures on Raverly for you on your page.
    Say hello to Ruby Lou and pet Mr. Fox for me.
    Linda

  38. knitxcore says:

    what a perfect lil’ dollhouse (even if there are no dishes). i wish i had known you were going to tnna. it may have changed my mind about going. haha.

  39. lainey says:

    I was just wondering… about Lamby. I’m sorry if it’s a rude question, or if you, perhaps mentioned it somewhere and I missed it. I’ve just started reading your blog because of the lovely, sweet hexipuffs. I wondered, because I have two cats too.

  40. Lori says:

    wow, so gorgeous, your space. welcome home.

  41. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks for all of the lovely comments!

    @lainey no worries thats not a rude question at all… lamby is doing very well!🙂
    not many people know that lamby and roo actually didnt get along. at. all.
    they were brother and sister and both fought for “top cat” incessantly..
    they both scratched and bit each other to bits… the floor was always covered in fur tufts!
    and then they began to have stress problems over the constant fighting over their territory😦

    so when my ex and i broke up, lamby stayed with him and his sons who love him dearly
    and lil roo came to live with me.🙂
    they are much happier now and i havent been woken up by a wild hissy fit ever since!
    i do miss lamby, but im going to london in a few days and im sure ill get a chance to visit him and give him a cuddle as we are all on very friendly terms. i hear he’s changed a LOT and is a way happier lil cat-man now! meow ^..^~~~~

  42. lainey says:

    Ah. A happy ending.. New beginnings. That’s always nice. I’m very glad for Lamby. And Roo. I have a brother-sister pair of kittens too; I hope they get along.

    It’s very sweet of you to respond to my nosy question. Thank you!🐱

    P.S. I do so love your fairy skirts. Prolly cause I wear them too.
    P.P.S. I also love the “fairy music” you had playing in the background (in your videos). Not too suffocating, just enough space for thought between the tinkles. (if that made sense)

  43. Joan Filler says:

    Hello. I found your beautiful animal pattern knits in the fall Interweave magazine, so I tracked you down. The fawn is excellent, and the cat in your photos is quite a beauty, too. I saw your kitten mittens, on your website, lovely. I am a crazy cat lady with 5 cats and one of them looks like Ruby Lou. Can you or have you created a portrait of Ruby Lou in yarn?

  44. Taru ThithRa says:

    i still can’t believe how full of magic your little office is. you multi-dimensional faerie, you.

  45. Penni says:

    i just love your Narnia cabinet! It is so magical,

  46. Barbara Fredrick says:

    What a beautiful cat!

  47. mothspit.com says:

    beautiful home and beautiful cat!

Give a hoot here. I love to hear from you!

