*day 3 of the give-away party!* garden gate & ivy

oooooh! oh my hoot i am so overwhelmed by the amazing comments you guys are leaving! i was so nervous about posting a new pattern every day for 10 days.. but this has been FUN! … and its not as scary as i thought it would be!🙂 thank you ALL for making this so special and full of squeeeeee! give yourselves all a big hug from me k?

So without further adu adeu adue adieu ado?!
Day 3 brings us *garden gate & ivy* cowl.

Everyone knows the luckiest vines get to climb all over garden gates! The inside of this reversible cowl is lined with garden gate pinstripes. The outside is rightly rambling with climbing filigree & ivy vines.
This reversible cowl is a good for beginners who want to practice their stranding color-work. It’s not as hard as it looks and its actually a super fun knit! Plus it gives you a warm neck and all that.🙂

You can take a closer peek at the details *here* or buy it now for 5.50 USD.The pattern is also featured in my book *woodland knits.*

Q. How do i win a copy of garden gate & ivy, and how do i win a copy of the book!?
A. Simple! Just leave a comment right here in this post and i’ll pick winners tomorrow!

Now for the FUN STUFF!
The WINNING COMMENTS from yesterday (chosen at random) are:
First for the copy of moonbeam duster pdf:
CONGRATULATIONS Idpaulson!!!

ldpaulson says:
September 27, 2013 at 11:17 pm 
Stephanie, this is such a cute pattern. I will now stop asking myself “Could Stephanie possibly create anything cuter? Could she *be* any cuter?” Absolutely rhetorical! I love all the different styling in your photos. It’s genius to show the project knit in different colors and the multicolored fringe … whoa! Would that I had this when making music in public. Perfect for sashaying and picking, especially out-of-doors! I needs me some petticoats and bloomers!

Next for the copy of the book:
CONGRATULATIONS Michelle!!!

Michelle says:
September 28, 2013 at 11:37 am 
I’m going to keep saying the same thing every day, I would LOVE to win a copy of your book. Such interesting patterns that I would love to try.

Winners, i’ll be sending you an email so check your junk folder🙂

See you tomorrow for day 4 and until then happy knits and good luck!! ♥
love, stephanie xoxo

oooh ps. the last picture was taken in england on a little farm… i had no idea when were were going there that they had done lots of ROWAN shoots there.. so when i saw the little wood cottage i was starstruck! I-love-me-some-rowan-now. i was like PUHLEEEESE can we take photos up here? its the ROWAN PORCH!! they were like um. the lights not good. im like aah dont care its the famous porch im ON it ahhh! anyway, i managed to get one pic and im smiling so much cause its like im standing next to johnny depp or something. wow……….. “things knitters say”🙂

This entry was posted in the nest. Bookmark the permalink.

279 Responses to *day 3 of the give-away party!* garden gate & ivy

  1. Laurie says:

    So beautiful gorgeous !

  2. Linda Rumsey says:

    This cowl is stunning! Might have to make it before the Catching Butterflies mitts!
    lindarumsey on Ravelry

  3. spinnerin (Erin from Faery Knitting) says:

    Oooo, gorgeous! I do hope to win the book one of these drawings….

  4. Gorgeous! Love it and your patterns so very much! I want to knit them all!

  5. Deanna says:

    I am blown away yet again….your creativity knows no bounds! I have a tough decision ahead of me deciding what to knit first….

  6. Julie LaFleur says:

    This cowl is adorable!! I want to knit it right now- but I have several woodland creatures waiting in line, and all must take turns…Great design!

  7. Nanita says:

    Seriously gorgeous photos, and another amazing pattern!! I’m keeping my fingers crossed, and I’m even taking speed knitting lessons to prepare myself in anticipation of your book! ♥ Love from Brussels!

  8. So sweet! I love the little vines, but I didn’t notice the cute gate until you mentioned it! There should be a picture of that side, too🙂
    It’s so great that you’re doing this contest, because I LOVE waking up to a new pattern by you EVERY DAY! It’s like Hanukkah! Christmas is the book, but this is definitely Hanukkah🙂

  9. Trisha Presnell says:

    I love the cowl, I love the book! I actually love everything you create! I want this pattern, I want the book! I want everything!

  10. Maeve O'Brien says:

    All your patterns always look so interesting, don’t know what to try first. gaah!!

  11. Ooo! This is all kinds of awesome! I love the detail of the stripes on the inside.

  12. Aerial says:

    That cowl is sooo cute!

  13. Heidi Bruksas says:

    i really hope to win the book, i follow your tinyowlknits side, and are so glad when i get email from you
    Heidi

  14. LHawkins says:

    I’m not usually fond of things around my neck. But this is adorable and seems to have room so I would feel comfortable wearing it. Love getting to see one a day and comment.

  15. Anja says:

    There are so many patterns in the book that I love ! You are a great designer.

  16. Charlotte Smith says:

    This is absolutely fabulous!! Like everything! I would love this book it will keep my needles busy for a long time🙂 GORGEOUS!!!!

  17. Amy B says:

    I would love to win either book or pattern. Thank you for this amazing opportunity. Your work always makes me smile.

  18. Sophia says:

    I love the color work for this cowl! I can’t wait to see what you will feature tomorrow! Beautiful work!

  19. donyu catino says:

    It is such fun seeing a new pattern each day.

  20. Susan Williams says:

    I absolutely love this cowl pattern! Dare I try color stranding? I’m a little intimidated. I’ve done cables and I’ve even knitted socks but haven’t done the color changing thing.

  21. Hoot hoot. Love being in your parliament . I will enter every day hoping I win

  22. LJ says:

    Hoping to win today, Miss Tiny Owl!!❤ Love the new pattern especially so!❤ Keeping creating beautiful knits for the world🙂

  23. Oh wow, an other beautiful pattern, how cool is this … uhm, nice and warm I mean.😉

  24. Day 3 and still hoping to win a copy of your book (but if I don’t win, I shall surely buy a copy anyhow!)

    Lovely, lovely and thank you again for this give-away opportunity…

    mb

  25. Sara says:

    I have to make this one!!!

  26. Jean Saja says:

    I just love you and your designs and your stories so much, I just ordered the book – just couldn’t wait!!! I’ve had hand surgery so I hope there’s something less advance as my hand tires and very stiff. Thanks! Jean

    ________________________________

  27. Maddy says:

    Oh my goodness, I think this cowl pattern is my favorite yet! It’s so pretty, I want to make ten of them and just give them all away so that other people can have warm necks and pretty acessories❤

  28. Jeanette says:

    Lovely and snuggly. Your book is so cheering for winter blues.

  29. kristenwest says:

    This is gorgeous. I must go on a knitting frenzy!!

  30. Murphy says:

    What a beautiful pattern! I would love to try it. I had to post, since you are on the Rowan porch. My last name, by marriage, is Rowan. It’s so fun, when shopping at my LYS, to give my name when the shop associate looks up the rewards list. I always say, “Rowan, like the yarn!”

  31. Catherine says:

    I wish my faeries would learn to knit, like the elves and the shoemaker. Except my story would be the fairies and the knitter, and each morning to lovely creations from your “Woodland Knits”, book. So fun adventures could be had wearing the magical knits. How about this Garden Gate and Ivy cowl for a trip to the Secret Garden?

  32. A fantastic cowl and so beautiful it can be made to keep or be a gift for a special friend. Love it.

  33. Laura says:

    Ooh! Cozy and lovely. I can’t wait to get this book and start playing!

  34. Diana says:

    Love these patterns– super cute, plus the photos are all beautiful!

  35. Sam says:

    The concept for this cowl is so cool. I love garden gates, vines, cowls, reversibility, and stranded knitting. Wow, five of my favorite things in one! I’m also loving that cuddly vest you’re wearing. I have a jacket in a similar style that I’ve been wearing everyday for the past week.🙂

  36. Betty says:

    Very nice!

  37. sandandsky says:

    Oooo! What a delightful cowl! This is a must knit😀

  38. Kirsten says:

    Well the fun never stops. I don’t think it’s even about winner anything for me anymore as just enjoying what comes next from “A Beautiful Mind”! It is very true “good things come in small packages” can’t get any better than a Tiny Owl!:)

  39. angela woods says:

    Beautiful cowl and colour work, your patterns are always so adorable, I so have to get me this book. xxx

  40. Patti says:

    gorgeous, just gorgeous. you are amazing. period. bought your book, but, hey, here’s hoping I win anyway!

  41. Ulrika Reinholdsson says:

    Love this design! Perfect for swedish winters and stylish too!

  42. Lovely cowl! Would love to win.🙂

  43. Lisa says:

    So pretty — and I love that shade of green. A beautiful design!

    Lisa

  44. Candice Dull says:

    Love the whimsy!!!

  45. Jane H says:

    I would LOVE to win this, and the garden gate cowl is super delicious, but then everything you design is a pattern I want to try!

  46. LaduSwala says:

    This is the cutest cowl I have EVER seen, and I MUST make it. I’d love to win a copy of your book!❤

  47. Kathy Pierini says:

    Amazing….I’m loving this! Everyday is like watching and waiting for the next magical notification (email, pictures, pattern, etc.) to happen. So much excitement and joy to be a part of….congratulations on your beautiful book!

  48. Sarah Campbell says:

    Wow! That pattern is so pretty! I can totally see myself wearing that as it gets mighty windy in Worcester USA! You have outdone yourself with this collection and I would love to win your book! However I may not be able to contain my squee and my ordering fingers from hopping onto Amazon and ordering it!

    Thank you! Sarah

  49. yeah!!!! such a beautiful location. I love the cowl today I have not done stranded work before.

  50. Ooh! Ooh! Pick me! Pick me! I’m getting terrible Start-itis thinking about your book because I want to try so many of the patterns! I have several of the patterns already designated to different people for Christmas gifts.

  51. Heather says:

    me me me pick me🙂 love love love

  52. Cowls are de riguer for winters in London, Wisconsin, and New England! Your garden gate and ivy cowl would definitely wind it’s way ’round the throats of my family members come Christmas time.

    My son Drew, living in London, graduated from Dartmouth and with Forest Green as the official school color of his Ivy League Alma Mater would be the first recipient, naturally!

  53. Elliot says:

    So excited your book is finally here! I have been following you for quite some time and have been looking forward to this day for way too long. I have become a better knitter because of your patterns and especially love your videos🙂 I am working on the beekeeper’s quilt now for a special special friend, but plan on making everything in this book! Congratulations, and love love love that last picture *purrr* Just in time for chilly nights and crisp days.

  54. Tracey says:

    Each day the patterns are better than the last!

  55. eneurian says:

    i would really love to win but if not i will save my pennies as best i may. i will own this pattern some day

  56. shehitsback says:

    Adorable cowl! Might have to finally make myself learn to do color-stranding for this one.

  57. Vanessa Rothenbuhler says:

    Your patterns are simply gorgeous! I cannot wait to get a copy of this book!!!

  58. zeknit says:

    Spent last night trolling for hours looking for the perfect cowl pattern and lo here it is. My fingers love the dance of fair isle and are smiling already with anticipation🙂 Debora

  59. Ashley says:

    Love it! I could use some color work practice!

  60. sewincoloran says:

    What a lovely cowl! I’ve bought several of your patterns and hope to get your book. So far, there are lots of things I’d like to make!

  61. Emilythefunkychicken says:

    We’re the woodsy association — book us for your BIRTHDAY PARTY!
    Stuck in my head, hilarious!

  62. Aline says:

    an ivy cowl!!!! i love it. sqeee! im making two for sure. one for me and one for Ivy, my sweet little willow the wisp girl…awww! and green is one of my fav colours to boot too. i am just going to have to *quit my job* to make all your designs as soon as possible…i still havent started my hexipuffs yet. eee🙂 beautiful pictures again. you are such a pretty lady and the location is fab. see you tomorrow! ps. that porch is definitely the Johnny Depp of porches😉 xox

  63. Sophie says:

    And again! I’d LOVE to win a copy of your book! Your patterns are lovely, amazing, cute… You are awsome🙂

  64. Carol Haines says:

    Now is the time for me to begin stranded colour work…I have been looking for a pattern that would move and inspire me to learn colorwork and alas here it is…thank you

  65. rosie says:

    Perfect I love the way your mind works in such fanciful delights

  66. Marilee says:

    Love your beautiful book so much, and your patterns just keep getting better and better!

  67. Jane Kellett says:

    Another gorgeous design! The book is on my Christmas list, but I don’t know if I can wait that long!

  68. Jodi Labonte says:

    I love cowls and this is a very cute pattern, I just finished my first double knitting project for my grand daughter. This would be a great second project. Thanks for the opportunity. HOOT!

  69. Valentina says:

    The previous patterns are perfect for my daughter… but this one has my name on it! I can’t wait to knit it!

  70. Mackenzie says:

    Haha, thanks for sharing behind the scenes details of the photo shoots, too!

  71. mandarine's says:

    I wish I could win today!

  72. Jeph says:

    This is definitely the more “sophisticated” look of the collection so far!

  73. Abby M says:

    Wow! I could be so cozy in this cowl. So sweet!

  74. brianna says:

    oh I do so ever want to win a copy of the book it sounds better and better by the second!

  75. whatzitknitz says:

    beautiful ivy cowl! what a gorgeous porch!
    with each pattern you show I think of just who it would be perfect for. this cowl would be perfect for all my nieces for x-mas. but I have 8 nieces ; ( maybe I should just be selfish and make the cowl for me ; )

  76. Nanette Campeau says:

    I am stash diving in anticipation!

  77. Dewi says:

    You sure look happy on that porch😀

  78. Sarah Norman says:

    Famous porch, that made me giggle🙂 Beautiful patterned cowl, I’ve not tried color-work, but would be brave for this!

  79. Debbie Taylor says:

    I love your things. I am so glad I found you website. Just bought 2 patterns and can’t wait for your new book to come in.
    Debbie

  80. Pepper says:

    This cowl is So beautiful. And clever too! I love that its reversable. You really should have some photos featuring the other side too. I didn’t notice its pattern till you mentioned it.

  81. erb325 says:

    These patterns keep getting cuter and cuter. I’m always excited to see what you come up with next. I aspire to create beautiful patterns just like you one day.

  82. Leslie Dodge says:

    Must win a copy of this awesome looking book! If I don’t win, I will put this book at the top of my Christmas wish list! Leslie

  83. I am always awestruck at the little beautiful things that often go unnoticed, that you see and become your inspirations. You’re killing me with cuteness, I love it all so much❤ Hoot hoot… {what does the fox say?}

  84. pokitty says:

    How long did it take you to make all these knits for the book? Soooo much neat stuff so far!

  85. Cherie says:

    Sooooo cute!!! Love the cowl. Your book is on my wishlist🙂

  86. pokitty says:

    Is this one felted?

  87. Debbie Venables says:

    Perfect cowl! Perfect camouflage amongst the trees just like other little owls. And it doesn’t look too difficult to knit. Another lovely work of art.

  88. Kendal says:

    Ooh that cowl looks so toasty!!! I would be so thrilled to win this pattern, and I would be BEYOND thrilled to win a copy of your new book! Congratulations on its publication, btw. And thanks for doing this giveaway!

  89. Joy Hannaford says:

    This is soooo pretty. A lovely design and it looks really cosy too.

  90. Julie Simpson says:

    This reminds me of ireland somehow. its like a celtic design and the green and cream just makes me think of ireland even more🙂

  91. Lovely as usual. Gives off a true sense of warmth. =)

  92. Ann says:

    Another beautimous pattern!

  93. Vanessa Rothenbuhler says:

    I’ve never been a cowl girl, but I might have to change that and make this cowl so that I can wear it on my redwoods walks!!!

  94. tinkhickman says:

    Beautiful cowl, I love the colourwork. Deb x

  95. Linsey says:

    HOOT HOOT – PICK ME! Thanx, your Owlette.

  96. Paddy says:

    I would like to make this in black and white- a wrought iron kind of look. I spent a lot of time in that section of the V&A the last time I was in London.

  97. Kimmy says:

    Ivy’d be SO gateful for this gardeneous book or pattern! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE everything you put your magic wand to! Hugs, Kimmy (KimmyZ on Ravelry)

  98. Kathryn says:

    I love the pattern and I would love to win the book so I can make them all

  99. Anya says:

    Whoops, entered my “hope I win” comment in the wrong place. 🙂 Your book looks like so much fun– I hope I win a copy! 🙂.

  100. Laura MV says:

    Lovely pattern! Your designs are always so creative

  101. You must have had so much fun coming up with these projects! I want to have fun knitting them!

  102. Kristalia Astari says:

    ooo my mom is to love this one! I’ll have to make it for her birthday!

  103. Effie M. says:

    I think this is going to be my first attempt at colorwork!

    It is such a lovely pattern =)

  104. Another wonderful pattern. This one looks so warm and cozy. I so hope I win this book. It’s one great pattern after another.

  105. Sarah Ultis says:

    Just loving all the new patterns! It’s exciting to have them revealed one by one. =D It’s like a little present in my email every day!

  106. donaji says:

    I’m a great fan of all your patterns and right now I’m having a little colorwork phase, I’m thinking this cowl would be a great next project!!

  107. Patty rifkin says:

    Every time I see your patterns they are so serene and woodsy, natural looking. It makes me want to sit in the forest and hope some fairies visit while I am knitting. Just need a good book and some coffee and I would be set.

  108. Debbie says:

    The hits just keep on coming! Thanks for hosting this 10 days of giveaways! Would love to win the pattern or better yet the book with ALL the patterns!

  109. Myha says:

    Ooh color work! That’s a bit scary to me but I like learning techniques. The vines on the pattern look so elegant and structured, I really like it!

  110. Julia says:

    I absolutely love your patterns! I love whimsical things but these are great! Would love to win some patterns or a book!

  111. Lotta says:

    Ooh so pretty! Looks hard but I’ll trust you if you say it isn’t. I really do need to practise the color work… and it’s getting real cold here up north, so this looks like the perfect pattern! ♥

  112. Cesy says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous!!!! Look perfect for the blustery fall days that I know are coming around soon!

  113. Karen Lauterwasser says:

    Hi! i am not a cowl wearer (hate pulling things over my head all the time) but I can imagine using the colourwork pattern on a hat or scarf, since I am a fan of scrolls and curliques!

  114. This is stunning! I’d hope it would look as perfect on me as it does on you!🙂 x

  115. Sally at Rivendale Farms says:

    Love this pattern! And, only a knitter and yarny geek would compare the Rowan porch to Johnny Depp. (And I totally agree – just to own my yarny geekness.)

  116. Stephanie says:

    Wow! Super pretty… And a new technique to learn, so exciting!

  117. Stephanie says:

    ❤❤❤ another beautiful pattern❤❤❤
    you will keep me busy and happy this winter!
    thank you!

  118. Cindy says:

    I love this cowl!!! I love, love, love it!!! I love the settings for your photo shoot as well! Super fun! I’ve just gotta have you new book! Thank you for your generosity and sharing it with us!

  119. Cora Jeanne says:

    This pattern is so subtle and beautiful! I think one of my favorite aspects of your designs is the inspiration they provide to get up and go somewhere magical and beautiful🙂

  120. Amelia says:

    Deeply admire the delicate sense of perfection in the achievement, it is pure poetry, and what a chance to become part of the lucky ones who have the entire collection !

  121. Dissolvedgirl says:

    Memememe !🙂
    It’s such an adorable cowl, and I would love a copy of the book !

  122. Cindy W says:

    Oh, I love cowls and this one is not only beautiful, but it’s reversible! Wish I could win this book – it gets better & better!!!!

  123. Natalie says:

    What a great idea to put stripes on the inside of your cowl. I first purchased your beehive quilt and, with a broken leg, would be in a great place to start working on it but must find some stuffing around here before I start. Thanks for your uniquely sweet and unique creations.

  124. eidolons says:

    I’m so excited about your book. I watched your care of magical creatures video and instantly fell in love with your book preview. So. Much. Beauty.

  125. Susan says:

    Now that is one purty cowl!!!

  126. Fabiana says:

    I love to knit and found your site after getting The unofficial Harry potter knit magazine. I love all your designs and am in awe of your creativity! If I don’t win, I’ll be buying your book:)

  127. Meaghan Uyede says:

    Oh my, this is just lovely.
    Your patterns always inspire me to try to add a touch more whimsy to my life.

    I can’t wait to get a hold of your new book (be it through contest or book shop!). Congratulations on getting published🙂

  128. Adrienne says:

    Thats beautiful! I usually don’t wear cowls though I think I would make an exception for this one! Though colorwork is scary… very scary!

  129. Debi P says:

    I love cowls and this one is so unique! I love the theme of the garden gate with ivy. Beautifully done! So very English! Lovely!

  130. Jane Hamilton says:

    Your patterns are the most creative and inspiring patterns that I have ever seen. I would love to win a copy of your book.

  131. Tanya says:

    ooooo! my favorite so far! I can’t wait to see what lovely tomorrow brings!

  132. katie says:

    Oh my! This is sooooo beautiful! I’ve always wanted a little wooden gate covered in ivy….. maybe now I can knit myself a little woollen gate with ivy!!!🙂

  133. rachel boyce says:

    loving this cowl – I am knitting lots of winter warmers over here in England as the weather is turning, My daughters all love your patterns too

  134. Lizzy says:

    This is just gorgeous! I would love to win a copy of this book, so I can hide from the wallpapering, painting and building that needs doing and get into my meditation zone with yarn and needles! Lovely. xxx

  135. weefrills says:

    Wonderful cowl! I just moved to Michigan and I’m in the market for woolies.

  136. Nora Hahn says:

    Again, such an awesome pattern!! Guess I will knit it some day…I love the combination of colours!

  137. stephanie says:

    i would love to learn to make one of these!!

  138. CobyLyn says:

    How gorgeous! I’m looking forward to knitting all of the adorable patterns in your book! And thank you for having one owls for those of us who who who are owlets 😉 ❤️

  139. Such a pretty pattern ❤️

  140. Betty L. Collins says:

    I love EVERYTHING about Tiny Owls…..I just never take the time to leave a comment….stirred on by the possibility of winning a pattern or even BETTER: THE BOOK!!! I WANT TO MAKE THOSE LITTLE CASTLE TYPE BOXES!!!

  141. mountainweaver says:

    Just what I need for a Montana winter!

  142. NanaMamah says:

    What a lovely owlie cowl. Just beautiful.

  143. Deb says:

    Love the cowl, love your blog and videos, love the book, too! Love, Deb

  144. This one made my jaw drop – absolutely wonderful!

  145. mintypanda says:

    I live so far away from the forest I grew up next to and when I see these I feel at home again. I’m so impatient when it comes to knitting so I usually stick to my crochet, except I love your patterns so much I want to make them all!!! What do I do!?! I must knit all the things!

  146. Kris says:

    Oh how beautiful!!! Would love, love, love to win!!!

  147. kristina boka says:

    I love this cowl! Super cute patterns!!!

  148. Wow!! You work is such an inspiration, I love that you can lose yourself in your designs and become(pretend!) to be someone else and somewhere else for a little while when wearing your knitwear. Almost like Harry Potter and his invisible cloak, X

  149. Stephanie M says:

    Another beautiful pattern! I love your knits so much! Again, it is so cool to see your patterns gathered in one book! Congrats!

  150. Samantha says:

    Oh goodness I feel like I’d wear this to death! Like a wonderful wooly, felted, holey death.🙂 The weather has turned so rainy here and I’m starting to get so cold! (Its not even October! I thought these cold feelings were supposed to wait until winter!) I’d love the pattern, not to mention the book. I have a feeling I’d sooo enjoy flipping the pages with a cup of tea listening to the rain hitting my roof for a few hours!❤

  151. silversquidge says:

    Super cute Rowan porch and I love the cowl too!

  152. Super cute! I love that shade of green – just perfect!

  153. Kris C says:

    What a cute cowl! Love anything with green in it…🙂 And I’m so jealous you were on the Rowan porch! I think I’d react much the same way…

  154. Melissa K says:

    gorgeous!! I can’t wait to see the other patterns🙂

  155. Marci says:

    This will lbe going on the christmas gift making list! Or, maybe it will just be for me – should be a fun knit for practicing the color work… been looking for something like this.
    thanks!

  156. lollyknits says:

    that cowl is beautiful! I would love it in silver and plum🙂

  157. Pauline Spinks says:

    Classic and gorgeous…just like you Miss Steph ♥

  158. Amanda Regan says:

    Oh wow! This is beautiful❤ love it!

  159. Jane S. says:

    I am not a cowl person normally, but I do love that one! The colors, the pattern, it’s all good. 🙂

  160. zabbersays says:

    Now that I would start working on immediately!

  161. FayLynn says:

    I thought the midsummers was my fav. But this is right up there with it!

  162. knitalatte1 says:

    Woo hoo day three and the pattern is adorable. Who doesn’t love a cozy cowl?
    Thanks for sharing about the photo shoot location, I too would have been
    star-struck knowing that Rowan had been there…

  163. Xochitl says:

    Awesome :]

  164. Love the cowl – beautiful design and colors. It’s perfect for tea in the garden on cooler days. I love ivy growing on garden gates and you captured it perfectly. Lucky little leaves! Sarah

  165. jane says:

    I am crazy for your work — it’s amazing — everything looks so warm.

  166. kimber says:

    I love this cowl! I can’t wait to knit this, I am living out of boxes after moving down the east coast and I’m so glad I only missed a few days & now that I’ve got my Internet access back I’ll be having a total festival of pattern awesomesauce. can’t wait to see the book!

  167. Danielle Shewbridge says:

    How cute! This cowl reminds me of The Secret Garden!

  168. Stephanie says:

    More reasons to perfect my stranded colorwork!

    And I’m laughing at the Rowan porch story. I’d probably nerd-out about it too!

  169. Love the cowl. It looks so warm and cosy – probably too warm for Western Australia!

  170. crichmond11 says:

    I LOVE this cowl!!! That i the most wonderful shade of green ever, and it goes so nicely with the white! and it’s reversible!!!

  171. Izzy Kelsey says:

    Omgomgomg I NEED to knit this cowl!!

  172. Kim says:

    Ohhhh! Squeaked in with less than 2 hours to go for day 3. I’ve been looking forward to each pattern every day.

  173. Sheila says:

    I really love this cowl!

  174. Kelleyknits says:

    I love cowls, and this one looks so fun to make!

  175. Susi says:

    Wow, I love this… can’t wait to create one of my own..

  176. Alice says:

    Whouah, just so beautiful! What a clever project, I am in admiration in your work!
    Best wishes x

  177. Beth says:

    Beautiful pattern! Please enter me.

  178. Aimee says:

    I can’t wait to get my hands on these patterns! Congratulations on the book!

  179. inoxia says:

    Love love love!

  180. Alicia says:

    Day three already! Oohh, I could do this, I’m sure! How cute🙂

  181. Oh that is just lovely! (Of course)🙂 I would really love to practice stranded color work as I have never done it!

  182. Valerie M says:

    The more I see, the more I adore! Fabulous!

  183. kat says:

    I was afraid to try color change but this would be a great starting point. you look cute as a model🙂

  184. Erika M. says:

    Lovely! Cowl, pictures, just everything is so perfect! Can’t wait to see tomorrow’s new pattern! This is just so exiting!

  185. kelly b. says:

    Oh my gosh, this is my favorite so far!!!! I cant wait to see what else is in store, Im already in love with the book!

  186. deb says:

    would love to win!
    excited to see tomorrows pattern.

  187. sparkflo says:

    Love!!

  188. Tamara says:

    It’s a lovely cowl, so cozy! Loving these new whimsical designs for fairy forest folk🙂

  189. Hillary says:

    Gorgeous pattern!

  190. Samantha Abu Hadid says:

    I love all your designs, and the photo shoots are out of this world! Even the way your patterns are written is fun while being extremely helpful. Can’t wait to make things from your book, I’d be over the moon if i won a copy!
    Keep up the clever creativity 💗

  191. Krista Smith says:

    Oh my goodness, what a beautiful pattern! Thank you for being such an inspiring knitter! (The Johnny Depp comment really made me giggle – you are too cute!)

  192. Brie Ma says:

    Beautiful Pattern🙂 I love the gate slats inside.

  193. Love the cowl and I have the perfect yarn for it in my stash!

  194. Jenn says:

    I Love this cowl, it’s perfectly balanced between function and beauty❤ Keep up the good work- and congrats to all of the winners so far, you're so generous😀

  195. Kryss says:

    Gorgeous! Would so love to win one of these patterns!

  196. Nolemire says:

    Sooo pretty! You look like a queen!🙂

  197. Becky says:

    I’d love to win! Thanks!

  198. Vera says:

    O my this is gorgeous!

  199. Leanne says:

    Ooooh! Is there still time to comment?!?! (I hope so!) ❤ LOVE this design!

  200. Isabella says:

    You have such an eye for design!🙂 Thanks

  201. Tessa van der Horst says:

    10 days of sharing your amazing work! I would love to have your book! Its so cute! You created some of the most creative knits! They are soo adorable! I just cant choose! This scarf omg! Who doesnt need an ivy cowl! That youve made the gates on the back is so inventive hihi! Awesome pictures!

  202. Such a clever design! I would love to knit this, it would just be such a happy piece to wear! Yay!
    Keep doing what you do, you inspire me to learn more and more about knitting!

  203. Karen says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, Stephanie! I can’t wait to knit this one! ♥ love!!! ♥

  204. Oh, I love this one! You always make such beautiful things, and your new book looks like it will be the best yet! Thank you for giving me the chance to win it🙂

  205. Rachel Mackin says:

    This is so pretty!🙂

  206. Diane U says:

    It looks so snugly and warm.

  207. Marieke says:

    Hi Stephanie,

    A while ago I decided I was more of a crochet person. I tried knitting, but ended up frustrated. But now I want to learn and knit, knit knit! I stumbles across your blog and keep coming back to look at your beautiful pictures and designs. I love the fairy feel of it.🙂

  208. steffh82 says:

    I love this cowl it looks beautiful, thank you for putting up patterns each day & for your generous giveaway it’s lovely reading your descriptions of your patterns, really brightens up the day🙂

  209. Cheryl says:

    Cowls are my thing, and this one’s a beauty! It makes a statement about simplicity and intricacy all at the same time.

  210. Becky says:

    This cowl looks AMAZING! It looks like it would be so much fun to make! I would LOVE to win a copy of the book – there are so many beautiful whimsical patterns that I’d want to knit them all at once!! If only I had magical powers to knit more than 1 item at a time🙂

  211. Oh, I am just in love with that colourwork! bars on the inside and beautiful vine-y curlicues on the outside… *swoon* You really do make the most adorable patterns!

  212. Mima says:

    So very lovely!
    let’s hope i’m lucky this time ^-^

  213. I try again ! “ohhhh que j’aimerais gagner votre livre” (in French) I would like so much t win your marvelous book ! so so much ! I’m so sorry my english is so bad
    sincerely
    many thanks to the Dream
    Stéphanie from France

  214. Alix says:

    I would sooooo love to win your book or your pattern! I think the photo at the little ‘Rowan’ cottage is great – never mind the light!

  215. Lucy Ovington says:

    I have made a few of your patterns now and have been in contact when you were incredibly helpful. I can imagine myself peeping around a tree in the woods wearing this cowl on a chilly autumn morning hoping to catch a glimpse of something magical! Keep creating beautiful, imaginative and quirky patterns for us all to be inspired by.

  216. eryn howe says:

    a little bird told me to drop in and say hellooo ~*~
    another magical, beautiful pattern…i love tiny owl knits!

  217. Jennifer says:

    Awe dorable !

  218. Dear Stephanie,
    Oh how pretty this cowl is! I must put this one on my “to knit asap” list😉 Congratulations on your book!

  219. Nina says:

    Stephanie you have outdone yourself!
    Thanks a million for a knitterfriendly book of beautiful moments xx
    please count me in for a copy for my precious sis in faraway canada!!
    Hugs & kisses from Ireland x

  220. Aoife says:

    I still want to be in🙂 The pattern is beautiful as always

  221. Adhara says:

    oh my owl! i love cowls and i love damask-like patterns so I MUST MAKE ONE OF THESE. OR ONE THOUSAND.

  222. torirot says:

    Love that cowl!

  223. Jane says:

    What a beautiful cowl. What a beautiful book! Thanks for entering me in the draw.

  224. Betsy Dake says:

    love, love, LOVE this cowl! The vine pattern is fantastic!

  225. cheryl schneider says:

    I love your designs and my knitting buddies at my LYS would love them even more. I would be thrilled to win a copy of your book so I could gift it to my friends who own this shop and share all your designs with dozens of knitters.

  226. Maxine S says:

    Oh, I love this design – it’s beautiful! And the pics – just like for the rest of the designs – are absolutely stunning!😀

    Thank you for sharing your magic with us, Stephanie!

  227. Veronica says:

    Your patterns are great! I’d love to win and knit them all!🙂

  228. Tiffeny says:

    I am going to have to make one just for me!! Wow!

  229. Mela says:

    Your creativity is astounding !

  230. Sue says:

    So beautiful I am sitting with my fingers and toes crossed x

  231. Not want…NEED. I need it!

  232. What a beautiful pattern! Thanks for the chance!!

  233. Kelly says:

    What a clever cowl! I’d love to try color work… This looks like a good first pattern to try! Love them all tho!🙂

  234. Olivia says:

    Stunning! Excited to have a chance at winning!

  235. Kriste says:

    Another winner pattern! Love all the variety and they’re all so adorable.🙂

  236. Carol says:

    I love this pattern. Hmmm. I might be starting it soon. I lost my warm cowl last winter. I love your creativity!

  237. Glenys says:

    I like the pattern on the cowl.😀 I want to win your book too!!

  238. Roni Williams says:

    I am so torn – I don’t know what to knit first!? I love all the patterns in this book.

  239. Willow says:

    Oh I want to knit this in white and wine red colours! It would look so pretty and sophisticated. As a side note, I love your mitts in this picture too🙂

  240. Angie says:

    Another fantastic pattern.

  241. Ack! I hope I’m not to late for today’s entry. I could so be wearing this right now! 60 degrees here.

  242. 365redeux says:

    Looks like there was good light on the porch after all!! I could go on and on and on about how cute your designs are, but everyone already knows it just from looking at the photos! Hoot hoot!

  243. Bonnie Pinkerton says:

    OMG! It has really been a busy week and I am just now seeing that you are giving things away! I love all of your stuff and would love to win anything! Oh by the way, I have to tell you that my 6 year old nephew is in ‘love’ with you. I was showing my niece the video’s of your new bracelets and my nephew was mesmerized! We soon discovered that we could play any of your videos and he would sit as if transfixed! When they are over he begs us to find another one! Too cute!

  244. Lene Hårde says:

    wow! I never ever win anything – but now I know what I wish for christmas. Love your designs – they inspired me to learn the english knitting terms

  245. Katie says:

    Enchanting! Fabulous work, as always! I can’t wait to get a copy of your book.

  246. Stefanie says:

    wow. this pattern is really beautiful!

  247. Sigga says:

    That looks great, would love to make that.😀

  248. Janet says:

    I love everything (naturally), but am super-excited about this cowl!

  249. Rachel Brock says:

    I would love to win!!! your work is amazing!

  250. Mert says:

    So cute!

  251. Nicki Barick says:

    Love your designs so much. Do you have any ideas for hedgehog designs? I know they’d go down so well here in the UK.

  252. Penni says:

    VERY CUTE!! This is soo much fun!

  253. BJ King says:

    I would love to win a copy if your book. And this cowl looks wonderful. I love cowls, but most always slump down. This one looks like it actually stands up and keeps you warm.

  254. Ailbhe says:

    Cosy and gorgeous! I am such a fan, this book is definitely on my Christmas wish list!!

  255. Kadie says:

    Such a gorgeous pattern! I love everything you do! Can’t wait to get your book so I can make some of these lovely designs!

  256. Kim-prplbflywngs says:

    You look amazing in all of these photos.. And I am so in love with this! I can’t wait to create all of the patterns!❤

  257. Arika says:

    Your patterns are gorgeous, I would be so honored to win. You are so talented.

  258. Birgitta Goetzelmann-Liebig says:

    Dear Tiny Owl,
    your patterns get my knitting needles out of retirement! This one is definitely worth forgoing lectures, meetings and conferences – gorilla-knitting in business and at University – here I come again!!! Keep designing your wondrous stuff, ordered your book, am absolutely thrilled by the Beauty of it all. Thank you for rekindling the flame!!! – Birgitta

  259. I love this one!!! I hope I win🙂

  260. Kelly says:

    Popped in from facebook after seeing your post there. Yay! I really hope I win ’cause that would be grand. Lots of love to you and thank you for sharing all your wonderfulness with us.🙂

  261. TerriSue says:

    What a gorgeous cowl. By the way my granddaughters name is Rowen.

  262. Meaghan says:

    I would love to win a copy of the pattern or the book!!! I love your work!!

  263. KnitterPam says:

    no. way. THE. ROWAN. PORCH. You are so cool, Steph. Love ya and wish you lots of luck selling loads of copies of Woodland Knits! Skype/call me sometime soon!

  264. Stephanie says:

    Such a pretty pattern, love your work Stephanie!

  265. KnittyLizard says:

    Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeousness! Love it! Love all of them!

  266. Linda says:

    I love hoods in the winter🙂

  267. bobnlin says:

    Great way to keep cozy!!

  268. Susan Ma says:

    Can’t wait to try that color work! So beautiful.

  269. Jennifer R. says:

    As always…such fantastic patterns!!! I would be ecstatic if I were to win🙂
    Thank you for being such a wonderfully creative being!!!

  270. Terese says:

    Hoot it’s beautiful, Hoot it’s incredible, Hoot, I Love, Love Love!

  271. Clara says:

    Awww thanks for the hugs!!! I LOVE hugs, and I LOVE this little cowl too! *feathers and glitter and leaves falling everywhere from all the magic*

  272. Ed Bauck says:

    Again super cute and useable with just enough whimsy to keep the fae at play!

  273. Jody Hatch says:

    This is such a hoot! Love them, how to choose which one to knit first?

  274. Sara Tompkins says:

    I love all of your patterns and the photos that accompany them. You are the perfect model for your patterns.

  275. Cristina says:

    This looks so elegant!

  276. Molly says:

    So lovely! Your blog is so fun to follow and the book is a treasure. Waiting eagerly for mine in the mail. It is so nice to have such magical things to look forward to creating……takes you out of your head a bit and lets you sit quietly (knitting) while being mindful of your spirit and heart…dreaming! Namaste!

Give a hoot here. I love to hear from you!

