the beekeeper’s quilt


I finally finished it!!!!!! After an amazing year of keeping these little honeycomb hexipuffs with me, the beekeeper’s quilt is finished! It was actually quick and simple to put together (I devised a new way after the video was made.) Because they were like little “finished objects” themselves, i never really got “omg-i-cant-finish-this-afghan-itus.” I think we are going to do a hexipuff swap over in the tiny owl knits group on rav, there are definitely a few people starting up already! Come join if you like! ♥ tiny owl knits group

get your the beekeeper’s quilt knitting pattern *here*

This entry was posted in the nest. Bookmark the permalink.

99 Responses to the beekeeper’s quilt

  1. Summer says:

    That is awesome! I love it!

  2. Robin says:

    Oh my goodness. I cannot take this in to my little brain.
    Robin

  3. jeannie-maree says:

    bee still my heart i am a massive patchwork fan and ha=d been considering doing a new hexagon quilt , but NOW i can knit one instead i adore it

  4. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you lovelies! 😀 happy hexipuffing ♥

  5. Nessa says:

    i totally love this, i like all the little hexipuffs they are beautiful and the embroidery is a lovely and fetching idea. I like the country patchwork feel it has OMG i totally want to make one 🙂

  6. You did it you did it!!!! I’m so so so excited it’s done! SO SO lovely lovely. Congrats dearie!!! xoxo

  7. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks nessa 🙂 its sooo grandma huh? hehe

    and thanks thnappers!!! how is yours coming along????
    😀 post your project ooooh postie post!!!

  8. I love your quilt! it’s fabulous on your couch, too! Also, your kitten looks like my Popeye. Almost exact!

  9. tinyowlknits says:

    aw! 🙂 popeye heheh what a cute name!

  10. Pauline Spinks says:

    Oh how I love this quilt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I want mine finished!
    8 hexipuffs down….ummm….. about 500 to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Awesome work Steph!
    Your brain works in mysterious, awesome ways dude!

  11. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks paulie!!! you are totally going to be done next week i know it heh heh

  12. Tara Galuska says:

    oh i love! so cuddly cute 🙂

  13. I cannot believe it! I really can’t!

  14. Juli says:

    Wheeeeee so happy, I love it my lil teacup treasure! I am on my iPad to spy on this post hehehehehe I miss you!

  15. Juli says:

    Wheeeeee so happy, I love it my lil teacup treasure! I am on my iPad to spy on this post hehehehehe I miss you!

  16. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks tara & jessica!! 🙂
    and hi sweet crumpet! miss you too! when you getting interwebs back!? xo

  17. KnitterPam says:

    That.Is.Lovely. Oh my goodness. Really.Lovely. Like.You. (as my 4-yr-old says, “I don’t like you, i LOVE you!”)

  18. Cinda says:

    This is sooo cool. I just bought the pattern and I’m getting ready to start mine. My 4-year-old wants a blanket for her bed. We’ll see. she’s pretty wild so I doubt it’ll go into her room.

  19. carol says:

    Oh and oops! I sent you a comment in the wrong place. (yarn support, blush) I’ve been without a computer and I just wanted to tell you how happy you make me! 🙂 Your website looks so lovely. Yay!
    carol

  20. tinyowlknits says:

    thanks pam!!! 🙂 hey, you were the one to get me IN to koigu in the first place.. see what you started? hehe my fav hexie on the quilt is from the first skein i bought at angel hair ♥

    hehe thanks cinda yeah.. im trying to keep my cats off of it but they LOVE it 😉

    hi carol 🙂 no worries! i answered you back there too ehhe thanks!! xoxo

  21. nell says:

    another reason to ❤ you.

  22. Melina says:

    Hexipuff?! Best word I have heard in a long time. I love this project – keep looking at them all as they are each so pretty. Overwhelmed at how lovely it is and how much effort has gone in- in a good way!

  23. Deborah says:

    Cushy-licious! Your vlog is delightful and what a clever and wonderful project.

  24. tinyowlknits says:

    thank you lovely nell, melina & deborah 🙂
    hexipuffy cushylicious ♥ right back!

  25. Nicole says:

    Hands down the CUTEST thing I have ever ever ever seen. I have a ton of pastelly-speckly koigu that I’m using to knit a patchwork blanket too, though mine is boringly made up of squares, and not puffy at all (pout).

  26. Genevieve says:

    I love this quilt, hexipuffs oh my! I hope you will do more vlogs, my daughter & I loved this one.

  27. tinyowlknits says:

    yay thanks lovies!
    i will do more vlogs for sure 🙂

  28. peachpuppy says:

    Yaaaay! This is the cutest blankie, and love your video. You really should do more of these knitting vlogs (klogs? teehee) Exciting! I needneedneed this pattern. 😀

  29. Stephanie! This is so wonderful! And your adorableness in the video could not be more… adorable. The little panting noises you make when squishing the hexipuffs is what I do when talking to/petting my guinea pig. Cute little things cause shortness of breath! I am adding this to my queue, it’s a great design and idea (I like the satisfaction of completing the little hexi’s)
    xoxox
    Leah

  30. tinyowlknits says:

    kekeke klogs heheh love it. yes i will for sure. 🙂

    and thanks leah ♥ aw weee guinea cuddles xoxo

  31. Kirsten Spear says:

    Gah! Lovely, perfect, clever.
    I want to start this right now! Just bought the pattern; who needs sleep?

  32. sarah moore says:

    this is the most perfectly magical wonderful thing maybe ever!! between my absurd love for both honeycombs and quilts this may be the thing that gets me knitting again… which is pretty huge, so thank you for this.
    p.s. i have been shy-ly following you for a little while now and think you are such a lovely, whimsical, artistic, talented and inspiring person. everything you do has magic in it.

  33. Casey says:

    this blanket is AMAZING! I love it. I’m so glad I watched your vlog, I really thought those flowers were somehow knit in the hexagons, now I’m not so afraid of possibly trying to make this. I don’t knit but want to learn! would these hexagons be easy enough for a beginner?

  34. Sarah P. says:

    Just found your blog. WOW! Simply amazing. I purchased the Beekeeper right away and I have tons more in my queue. Keep up the beautiful work. My daughter and I look forward to covering ourselves tip to toe in your wonderful designs.

  35. Chae says:

    So gorgeous! I cannot wait to start knitting this! I want my whole bed covered in a carpet of hexipuffs.

  36. tinyowlknits says:

    oh thank you butterflies!
    hi kristen, sarah P, and chae! thanks! ♥
    and sarah im glad you popped out of the trees to say hello! 🙂
    casey, i believe if you put your mind to it, you can do anything 🙂
    you will love knitting!!!
    i might start with a few simple stitches first to get you going before attempting them…
    the patterns are written conversationally to help you through them, if you know how to knit.
    but they dont really teach you how to knit… so if you learn how to knit and increase and decrease then these would be the next step! ;D maybe try a scarf first.. ..
    also youtube is such a huge help! you can really learn a lot on there.(i learn knitting stuff there all the time)
    youll need to learn how to use double pointed needles too..
    best of luck!!! 
    (you should join the website ravelry http://www.ravelry.com asap!)
    its like “myspace” for knitters. and is a HUUUUGE help!
    you can see what everyone else is knitting and 
    get help in the help groups. good luck! 😀

  37. I’ve been having fun making hexapuffs! Thanks for the adorable pattern!

  38. aline says:

    loved seeing you like in person!!! love your quilt soo much. Amazing. I can’t wait to find out how to sew it together. Is this all your own sock yarn too? It seems like a lot differents colours, lucky you!

  39. Gorgeous! Totally gorgeous, I love it – downloading pattern now, can wait to get started. Only just found your blog through Fyberspates, big fan already, thanks!!

  40. marné says:

    This is the best thing ever! I love knitting, quilts, and beekeeping, I never thought all those worlds could collide in such a perfect way. You are brilliant, and I have downloaded and printed the pattern and can’t wait to start knitting hex-a-puffs! Would you mind if I borrowed a photo and linked to this in a blog post?

  41. Kristin McArthur says:

    This is just the perfect summer project ever. I saw this and had to this the minute is saw this. I am in search of sock yarn now and the perfect hexi-puff bag, I borrowed a new guest pillow we had for stuffing, Love the name The Bee keepers quilt and your nick name for them Hexi-puffs, I can’t stop making them all other projects have come to a halt.
    I think we must have the same neighbor as well building been building the Taj Mahal (for bunnies!!!) all summer long in the back yard, been hard to find a peaceful quit moment to knit during the day that is.lol Had a good laugh at that in the video. Thanks for this quilt I adore it. I have never heard of the yarn you mentioned i’ll be on the look out for it now.

  42. Kristin..... says:

    PS How can I shorten or edit my name lol I thought I would have a chance to type a name out ha ha.. I still adore this quilt. looking forward for more vlogs. can’t wait to see more…

  43. Kate says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! It’s definitely a “WOW” project!

  44. melinda lee says:

    i have been looking for an in-between (potent) portable project. this is perfect! (your vblog made me giggle, by the by). enjoy the rest of your summer!
    bless, melinda

  45. AMAZING! The cat is so adorable.

    You have a fabulous blog! I’m an author and illustrator and I made some awards to give to fellow bloggers whose sites I enjoy. It’s not a pass on award. This is just for you to keep. I want to award you with the Creative Blog Award for all the hard work you do!

    Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.
    ~Deirdra

  46. lilea says:

    As if the Beekeepers Quilt was adorable enough, your video has made it absoutely irresistable!

  47. Jason says:

    I watched this video over my wife’s shoulder and thought it was about the best vlog I’ve seen in a long, long time! Love the quilt, love the puffs, love the vlog, happy knitting!

  48. amelie says:

    i really am in wonderland! :o)

    this is the most most magical, adorable and warm (it looks soooo warm and snuggly) quilt i have ever seen in my life!
    ooooooh….and a sweet, magical and adorable fairy-snugglepuss too =^.^=

  49. That is one of the most beautiful knitted items I’ve ever laid eyes on in my entire life.

  50. Alycia says:

    oh my gosh that is amazing!

  51. Love this project – started my first puff last night and we’ll see where a year takes me. Addictive for sure.

  52. what can I say? you are quite amazing! I dreamed about the beekeepers quilt last night, I think I may need to make one… :OD

  53. Alice says:

    Can you do this with crocheting? … I dont really know how to knit…

  54. abby says:

    just read your profile on the vogue knitting website. you’re from wisconsin?! we should set up a “from wisconsin” knitting group in london. would love to meet up with the other sconnies out here 🙂

  55. I love this….I’m halfway through a hand sewn hexie quilt and am delighted by this knitted version and want to start one immediately! Big *sigh* will have to add it to the list. Ali xx

  56. how awesome is this?!?! 🙂 I must covet the pattern and dig through my yarns! 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing! I was lucky enough to find you on craftster and find all your other adorable patterns! 😀 Thank you! Thank you! 😀 Now if my hands could move fast enough and my free time were to double 🙂 😉 keep doing what you love Stephanie! It shows! 😀 ~Dawn

  57. kazzy says:

    Oh my im so in love with your bee keepers quilt!!!! so must try this, its great cos i have lots of started not completed knitting with i can turn into hexi’s and also some old jumpser with fun patterns! thanks for the great inspiration! kazzy x

  58. Dulcie says:

    What a wonderful quilt!

  59. Hippystix says:

    I’ve been too long away from the stixs and stitches (PhD to finish. Yuk!). Soooo happy to have found you again (I was sad to see the Owl in the dark so quiet. Cheery blogs have kept me going all this time)! But soon to be back in fully knotting glory. And this is JUST the darndest project to get me back in to the swing of life. Love ’em!

  60. vanessa says:

    congrats amazing job here

  61. Frozen in Wisconsin says:

    Can this be done with worsted weight yarn? I’ve a ton of ends of skeins laying about, seems like a good way to finish them off.

  62. Poxacuatl says:

    Beautiful! I’m worrying about the joining process! Eek. Is it time consuming sewing all these sides together? How are they all joined?

  63. okashii86 says:

    I am so amazed and in love with this quilt! I might try making one my self! I love it! great work and thanks for sharing!

  64. Alix says:

    Oh my…I just found your blog and your patterns today. It is now possible I may not eat or sleep before 2012 dawns as I want to make it all! The hexipuffs are just wonderful and must make the quilt the cosiest ever. Roll on winter, I’d say if it were mine!

  65. mellie says:

    I saw this on Pinterest – it’s absolutely stunning! I’m blown away.

  66. pixie says:

    Stephanie this is so wonderful……i just can’t wait to buy my wool and have a go at those scrumptious little hexagons…thank you sooo much for sharing this beautiful project with us all.
    Pixie x

  67. Beertje Zonn says:

    Wow! What beautiful!!!
    Beertje Zonn

  68. Loved that quilt you knitted suing those hexipuff, I think. Absolutely a hurricane task for layman as me to knit that. Do you have any of these for online sale?

  69. sam says:

    OMG, i love love love this idea, it looks amazing! And you, how cute are you on camera! It’s so nice to see your enthousiasm, please keep them videos coming. Say hi to your neighbour..!

  70. Emy says:

    I’ve just found your blog via Mollie Makes – wow! I love all your knits. Now to invent a time machine so I have time to knit such beautiful things!

  71. Lyn Sharp says:

    Getting my needles & wool ready to do the beekeepers quilt. May even make a rug for the bedroom.

  72. Valerie Moseley says:

    Wow a New Project. I bought the BeeKeepers Quilt Pattern today. Have knitted two to send to NACRO giveaway they are in the Post. Tried to enter the competition but site will not let me, even when I tried to use my London address. Good Luck to those who enter.
    Valerie

  73. Jan May says:

    Stunning! Would never have the patience in a million years.
    Hope you don’t mind – am writing a post on hexagons today, and am featuring a pic – with full links of course.

  74. Dorien Ruben says:

    I love your vlog! You are so enthousiastic! Perfect! Makes me so happy! 🙂

  75. Nadine Boisvert says:

    Bravo! Quel talent! Tu es très inspirante. Merci de partager tes si beaux projets.

  76. Kay says:

    I love knitting my little hexipuffs, have done about 20 now.
    Totally addictive.

  77. Maggie says:

    Just done my 100. What fun they are. Can be done anywhere and really looking forward to doing the next 100. Thank you

  78. Terri Sue says:

    just found this. i love the idea. i will probably get the pattern. one thing i do not understand is the polyfil. if you are going to the expence, time, work, and creativity to make a heirloom why are you filling it with polyester? if i make one it will be filled with wool. 1. i don’t like synthetics. 2. synthetics are not sustainable and that should be important to everyone. including anyone reading this post.

  79. beardedowl says:

    Such a BEAUTIFUL project! Ive been an avid crocheter for years, but after seeing your patterns Ive finally got the gumption to start knitting. I love the idea of having a project that you can always have with you (im that person who takes yarn out to dinner), so I cannot wait to get started on this:)))

  80. I just purchased the pattern and can’t wait to get started. I don’t have a lot of sock yarn, but I have a ton of Worsted Weight yarn scraps. I am going to try it with them. 😀

  81. Kathy says:

    Hi I downloaded the pattern on my I pad and it has disappeared says I have no access checked with paypal and I did pay for it! HELP!!!

  82. Carmen says:

    I got the pattern and then finally got the stitches on 2 needles and and and then went running to more experienced knitters who took one look at your pattern and tossed it back at me……….I am very ticked

  83. Dawn Duncan says:

    I just came upon your Beekeepers Quilt and its a wonderful thing….do you know you just made the best blanket….anyway I’m not that good with knitting let alone dpns but I ran out got my yarn, which was on sale yeah!!, and my dpns and sat down to begin, one I have to master small needles and yarn and that darn increase stitch–do you have a video of at lease how to do the first 3 rows–thank you for such a wonderful project

  84. Jen Letts says:

    Just started this and adore it thus far! Thank you… thank you… thank you…

  85. Hellooooooo!! I just wanted to let you know I’ve just bought this pattern and my New Year’s resolution is to make a hexipuff everyday so I can have an amazing Beekeepers Quilt! Wish me luck! I’m SO excited!x

  86. irene says:

    hi…new to the blog…but love this quilt. alas, i don’t have any fingering yarn and i’d rather not purchase any since i already have a HUGE STASH of worsted weight. is there anyway i can use the pattern with worsted weight yarn? i realize the hexi’s will be larger…maybe needing fewer…but could it be done??? thanks….

  87. Dovile says:

    OMG! I’d never have enough patience to knit so many hexipuffs to make a blanket of them!:)

  88. Finally finished mine! Thank you for the pattern and inspiration 🙂 http://thegiftshed.wordpress.com/2013/10/01/the-beekeepers-quilt/

  89. Anijess3 says:

    I’m going to buy my pattern today hopefully, so I’ll be able to work on hexipuffs all winter long! I was wondering about the lovely and magical little bag you had in your video. I’ve been searching for something like that quite diligently, but have had no luck. Could I ask for your help in pointing me in the right direction? Thank you so much, Tiny Owl Stephanie, and happy, magical knitting as always!

  90. eaejba1410 says:

    I’m so desperate to own one of these gorgeous Quilts!!! I am unfortunately in the hospital and very ill but I would be happy to pay for someone to make me one!!! Please, please, please!! This would make me soooo happy and someone some good money. Please contact me if you know if anyone who would be able to do this for me. I would love a full/ Queen size one. I look forward to hearing back from someone VERY SOON!! Pass the word!!

  91. Kat says:

    I have been working on this quilt for my teenage daughter the last few months and I’m about 3/4 finished with it. About 50 puffs ago I figured out a way that would have saved me a lot of finishing time and allowed for a more secure way to fasten the puffs to each other. Currently to finish up the last 90 or so puffs….instead of binding off the stitches, I transfer them back to one needle in reverse order. Then I switch out colors and distribute the stitches back onto two needles. That way there is a natural seam due to the stitches crossing over. The yarn colors do run into the first row, but aren’t noticeable due to the seam and the stuffing. I’m also whip stitching the rows of puffs together verses just tying them off and like the look and security it offers.
    Wish there was a way to post a picture for you to see.

  92. Katie says:

    I love the quilt, but can’t quite get the instructions, any way you could do a video tutorial? I don’t understand how to connect it in the round with 3 needles

  93. Dawn Duncan says:

    Where did you get the bag that you use while doing your hexipuffs

  94. Toni Duesing says:

    I wish I had taken your sage advice and sewed them together as I finished one beehive!
    Now I have a basket full and no time to put them together! You are magical and a great teacher.
    Thank you for tiny owl knits

  95. Betsy says:

    Hi Tinyowls!

    I am in love with this project and have bought the pattern and attempted to start the other day! Perhaps my knitting isn’t quite to my crochet and I seem to be struggling to knit on the round with only two needles!?
    Are there any video tutorials or simple step by step picture tutorials that you could point me to to help!
    Much appreciated in advance!
    Thanks 🙂
    Betsy x

  96. You crocheted all those tiny puffs? This is one of the most amazing blankets I’ve ever seen it’s just beautiful. Needs to be on a magazine cover with instructions inside. Just the best!

  97. Ornella Bonamassa says:

    Hi!
    I am a beekeeper and I am immediately fell in love with your quilt. I bought tge pattern, and I have made exactly …. zero honey comb!
    I would call myself an experienced knitter, but I cannot go after row 1.
    Any chance you released a you tube if those first rows?
    Thank you,
    Ornella

  98. Carol Beazley says:

    Hi, I’ve just brought the pattern and enjoying making my hexipuffs! I am a experience knitter but I’m getting the ladder look on the sides even though I pull the yarn tight, ant suggestions please.

Give a hoot here. I love to hear from you!